Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I prepared this dish tonight for a nice quiet dinner at home. Since there are only two of us, I halved the recipe. I did alter the original version and it still turned out wonderfully. My changes resulted from the realization that I was out of nutmeg and heavy cream. So, deciding to go in a more savory direction, I added finely chopped onion, fresh garlic, and a couple of dashes of dried basil to the stuffing. As some of the other reviewers suggested, I chopped the mushrooms up well so that they would reduce to a finer texture, which eased spreading in the butterflied, tenderized, chicken breasts. Since heavy cream was not available, I improvised by making a basic béchamel sauce. Before adding the flour and milk, I sautéed a very thinly sliced mushroom in the butter. I finished the sauce by stirring in about a tablespoon of dried basil before pouring over the stuffed breasts. I served this as shown in the photo, sliced into rounds with additional sauce drizzled over them; a beautiful presentation that tasted just as good as it looked. The warm tones of the basil playing against the savory mushroom onion stuffing were absolute heaven. This is definitely going into my regular rotation. Thanks for a terrific and inspiring recipe! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this for our anniversary dinner. It was delicious!!! I seasoned the chicken breast and added some cream cheese like others said and was wowed by the recipe. I also added cream of mushroom to the whipping cream. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Delicous! Love the flavor of all those 'shrooms! I sauteed mine with butter, wine and some fresh garlic. Definitely adding this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was so good and flavorful. I used a little of the heavy cream but also addded cream of mushroom soup on top of the chicken and it was great. I added some onions and fresh garlic while cooking the mushrooms. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought this was a clever way to cook chicken! It was very good, and can be served with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahDerks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Good and easy recipe. I used a can of 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup because I can not have cream. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERAHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was such an easy and quick dish to make. Even the kids at the party (who HATE mushrooms) loved it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Hopkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
What an excellent and impressive dish! It is quite time consuming, for a new 'cook' like myself, but it was well worth the result. I made a few personal alterations, such as chopping the mushrooms in a chopper.. until they were almost powdery. Then, I sauteed with the butter, while adding minced garlic and finely chopped onion. This made an excellent paste and quite simple to spread on the chicken. I also flattened the chicken breasts to make for an easier assembly. I put a tiny smear of cream cheese on half the breast (cheese lover here!). Once done, I sprinkled with a bit of paprika for color. Served with steamed zucchini and spinach. Delicious! This has become a permanent addition to my binder! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I made this dish the other night for dinner, but I modified the recipe somewhat. I only used 3 chicken breasts, instead of 6 but I used the whole amount of stuffing. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added about 3 large cloves of garlic, a medium onion and a splash of red wine to the mushroom mixture while sauteeing. I also added less bread crumbs (2/3 cup at most). Before stuffing the breasts with the mushroom mixture, I put a few tbsp of cream cheese in each breast and then placed the mushrooms on top and rolled up. For the "sauce", I combined about a half a can of cream of mushroom soup which I had leftover with about 1/2 cup of 10% cream. I poured the sauce over the breasts and then aprinkled with bread crumbs and baked at 350 for about 40 minutes. The end result was quite tasty and we will likely make again. However, there was not enough sauce for us, I would double the ingredients for this next time (there was barely enough to pour over the chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
We really enjoyed this for dinner. It was easy to prepare and very tasty. I didn't end up making all the chicken with it so I had some extra stuffing which I baked in the dish as well - and we put that on top of our baked chicken when we ate. I would surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States