Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken Breasts in a Balsamic Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was a fantastic dish, and using boneless chicken breasts with the filling stuffed inside them makes for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was very tasty, but stuffing the chicken was time comsuming, next time I will just make a sauce with the ingredients and pour over sauted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My hubby and I have lost a bunch of weight, and we're always looking for new, tasty recipes that are within our caloric limits. This recipe totally exceeded my expectations! It was savory, flavorful and very, very good. I did six smallish chicken breasts. I never cook skin-on breasts, so I cut pockets and stuffed the mixture inside the breasts. I didn't use the food processor; I cut the mushrooms by hand. I had some left over, so I added it to the sauce I made from the pan drippings. This was AMAZINGLY good, and I didn't tweak the recipe itself really at all. I like to try it the way it is written first before I tweak it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The reason the previous reviewers chicken burned is probably because she altered the ingredients without altering the cooking. Chicken thighs are a lot smaller and need to be cooked on lower heat. (BTW-The recipe DOES state to remove the bone). I made this almost as is except for the addition of re-constituted chopped sun-dried tomatoes that I happened to have on hand to the stuffing mixture. I also did not use dried mushrooms and as a consequence substituted veggie stock for the reserved mushroom stock in the recipe. Perfect recipe. Even my 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Perfection! The sauce is to die for! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I added mozzarella cheese, less than a hand full of fresh baby spinach leaves, and sun dried tomatoes to the filling. I served the chicken over a bed of mashed potatoes. It was to die for! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten! My whole family LOVED it! I plan on making this meal very often. The only thing i did different was to use boneless chicken breasts and I just sliced them almost completely in half to stuff them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt use the reconstituted mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of water for the pan sauce, bf and partial vegitarian friend enjoyed as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Did this dish for my girlfriend's birthday as she loves goat cheese. Made no change to the recipe - used Lobster dehydrated shrooms. The taste was to die for. Only warning might be to have aluminum foil ready to place on breasts near end of 45 min cooking period. Meat was cooked to perfection, but skin was a little more cooked than I'd like. HIGHLY recommended - P.S. Gravy was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I tweaked this recipe a lot, but it turned out absolutely fabulous. 1) I had no dried mushrooms, but one pound of fresh. I put the fresh mushrooms, the garlic, 1/2 very large zucchini, and some chicken stock into the blender (added just enough chicken stock to enable the blender blades to move and mince the ingredients) 2) I made the sauce before basting. I used 1/3c balsamic, 1/3c honey, 1/8c chicken stock, splash of thyme, splash of savory, splash of orange juice, and garlic powder to taste. 3) I thinly sliced one scallion and one stalk of celery and sauteed them in 1 tbsp of olive oil. 4) I added the scallions and celery to the stuffing mix 5) I used skinless chicken breasts, just cut them in half lengthwise and stuffed them 6) I drizzled 1/2 of the sauce on top of them, ensuring the celery and onions were left on top of the breasts 7) I baked them at 400 for 35 minutes, checking often 8) I took some of the reserve sauce, boiled, removed 2 tbsp, and added 1 tsp cornstarch. 9) Added the cornstarch-mix back to the original extra sauce and let it simmer until thick 10) spooned the thickened sauce over the stuffed breasts when served 11) served with mashed potatoes and salad. It turned out fabulously. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States