Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken Breasts in a Balsamic Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Soooo good! I used olives instead of dried mushrooms, rutabagas instead of the fresh mushrooms, 30W motor oil instead of olive oil, Venezuelan beaver cheese instead of goat cheese, and squirrel instead of chicken. OK, I'm kidding, but really, why do people post how much they love a recipe, then proceed to tell you how they completely changed it? It cracks me up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The reason the previous reviewers chicken burned is probably because she altered the ingredients without altering the cooking. Chicken thighs are a lot smaller and need to be cooked on lower heat. (BTW-The recipe DOES state to remove the bone). I made this almost as is except for the addition of re-constituted chopped sun-dried tomatoes that I happened to have on hand to the stuffing mixture. I also did not use dried mushrooms and as a consequence substituted veggie stock for the reserved mushroom stock in the recipe. Perfect recipe. Even my 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I had to change this recipe a bit since I only had fresh mushrooms, sherry vinegar instead of balsamic, chicken thighs instead of breasts, and I wanted more garlic. My hubby said the cheese wasn't too goaty, and the mushrooms weren't too strong - it was a nice balance. I would also recommend removing the bone - it's so much easier to eat. The biggest problem I had with this recipe is that well before the chicken was done, the skin burnt where it had been stuffed. I will definitely make this, or a slight variation, again, but I think it has to be covered until the last 5-10 minutes to prevent the skin from burning. 4 stars as written 5 stars if the skin didn't burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten! My whole family LOVED it! I plan on making this meal very often. The only thing i did different was to use boneless chicken breasts and I just sliced them almost completely in half to stuff them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I changed this a lot!!! For the filling only used fresh mushrooms and replaced the goats cheese with Parmesan. I used a chicken breast with no skin which I battered out then put the mushroom stuffing in the middle and rolled up. I then wrapped the rolled chicken in streaky bacon which I basted with the balsamic/honey sauce. Didn't bother with the pan sauce, just kept basting the chicken every 10mins or so. It ended up being a very lovely dish. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My hubby and I have lost a bunch of weight, and we're always looking for new, tasty recipes that are within our caloric limits. This recipe totally exceeded my expectations! It was savory, flavorful and very, very good. I did six smallish chicken breasts. I never cook skin-on breasts, so I cut pockets and stuffed the mixture inside the breasts. I didn't use the food processor; I cut the mushrooms by hand. I had some left over, so I added it to the sauce I made from the pan drippings. This was AMAZINGLY good, and I didn't tweak the recipe itself really at all. I like to try it the way it is written first before I tweak it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I added mozzarella cheese, less than a hand full of fresh baby spinach leaves, and sun dried tomatoes to the filling. I served the chicken over a bed of mashed potatoes. It was to die for! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Did this dish for my girlfriend's birthday as she loves goat cheese. Made no change to the recipe - used Lobster dehydrated shrooms. The taste was to die for. Only warning might be to have aluminum foil ready to place on breasts near end of 45 min cooking period. Meat was cooked to perfection, but skin was a little more cooked than I'd like. HIGHLY recommended - P.S. Gravy was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was a fantastic dish, and using boneless chicken breasts with the filling stuffed inside them makes for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt use the reconstituted mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of water for the pan sauce, bf and partial vegitarian friend enjoyed as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States