Mushroom Stuffed Beef Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Add some finely diced onions to the mushroom mix and serve with garlic mashed potatoes with diced chives or green onions on top...We also add some grated parmesean cheese to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Had Oktoberfest dinner party and this was a success. Great flavor and easy to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Delicious! I grew up eating traditional rouladen and really enjoyed this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
made it last night and my family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I used precut and pounded meat which made the recipe really easy. Was a nice change from the regular rouladen. I added more garlic to the stuffing, probably 1 tbsp minced. I used 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of broth and 1 can full of shiraz wine for the gravy, with garlic and black pepper. I let the meat cook for 3 hours in the oven at 250 degrees, then removed the rouladen and thickened the gravy on stove top with instant dissolving flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I found this recipe easy to make and a nice flavour. The flavour complimented the beef and mushrooms without overwhelming them. I served this with mashed potatoes but I think this would be wonderful with noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this as a lower fat version of regular rouladen (i.e. no bacon), and so my expectations weren't too high. However I found it was very good and a great alternative to the more traditional rouladen. It seemed slightly easier to make as well; it's a big help if you get a rouladen cut from your butcher so you don't have to spend 15 minutes pounding to make the meat thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This does take some time to make, but it is worth it. 4 stars instead of 5 only because it didn't make nearly enough gravy, so I double the gravy the second time, and the second time I made it I used Marsala wine instead of red and it was MUCH better. The second time I also just used regular white mushrooms and didn't notice much difference in taste (and they were cheaper and easier to find) This makes an impressive looking meal and I would serve this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Hogg
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
We found this very tasty. I had Beef Cube Steak and wanted to change it up from the norm. I found many ideas from the reviews, thanks. I didn't use pickle and I forgot the bacon. The gravy was 2 cans of cream of mushroom, 1 can of beef broth, using the same can to measure the white wine, riesling, I don't like red sorry. Let is simmer and put in 2 handfuls of chopped mushrooms. As for the meat, the stuffing with lots of garlic and onions rolled up inside with toothpicks. Pan seared 3 sides and in the oven at 350 for 25 mins. The gravy needed some thickening just before serving, maybe a bit more. It was very yummy. Served with au gratin potatoes topped with real bacon bits. The brussel sprouts were simmered in beer, onions, Pappy's garlic herb and McCormick caribbean jerk seasoning. Thank you for everyones help at making this dish tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hogg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
No reason to compare this to “traditional Rouladen,” or to change it up to make it so – it is its own thing. That said, I modified the mushroom filling a little by simply making a Mushroom Duxelles, eliminating the bread crumbs and egg. Preparing it this way, the mushroom flavor was bold. And just as I do with “traditional” Rouladen, I prepared it all on the stovetop, simmering the beef rolls for about an hour and a half and then making the gravy. Hubs really liked this, calling it “very pleasant.” I thought it was good, not great. And while he liked the Dijon in the gravy, I was less enthusiastic and could have easily left it out. The red wine, on the other hand, and the thyme, should not be skipped, as they contribute the complexity of flavor this might lack otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States