Mushroom Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Good soup! I did make some changes though. I added barley and a full can of tomato paste. I did not strain out the vegetables, instead I put the soup into the blender and chopped the vegetables into small pieces. Then I added the spinach. Everyone loved it. They ate the whole thing! I did garnish with Parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a very good receipe for even the kids! They will love it more than you think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
WOW!! My husband and my kids loved this wonderful soup! I had no savory, so used italian seasoning with super results. Wonderful mushroom flavor from simmering! Thanks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful soup. I made it according to the directions, used 1/4 crimini, 1/4 shitake & 1/2 regular mushrooms. I did strain it because I wanted a light soup for a first course at a Christmas party I catered....the spinach leaves & mushrooms were a nice touch, but the parmesan sort of sank to the bottom. The strained veggies seemed to yummy to throw away, next time I maight save them & serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was one the best soup recipes I have made in a long time. I did leave out the sherry and the tomato paste, but still so good. I also left in the vegetables, I like a hardy soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Keep the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeMc
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was so good. However I did not strain the vegetables from the soup. I thought it would be a shame to waste them. Easy to make and great for company. The kitchen aromas were most enticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Our 'team' served this at an elegant fundraising dinner for 30, as the 2nd of 5 courses. VERY well received! Some modifications: - Used about 2/3 the qty of chopped mushrooms (crimini, rough-chopped) - Used 1-2 shitake mushrooms per serving, in lieu of reserved mushrooms (after straining). - Used double the qty of spinach leaves - Used Edward & Sons Not-Chick'n bouillon cubes in lieu of chicken broth (making it vegetarian) We DID strain the veggies, for our elegant meal. (but kept them, to add-back-in for hearty mushroom soup leftovers). One guest assured us that this mushroom soup was better than the offering she tried at a recent chef's competition in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
To address the concerns about straining out the vegetables: The submitter’s description of the soup as a “first course” clears up the confusion, for me. If a light soup is served as part of a formal multi-course meal, it’s often a soup prepared just like this – a very light broth-based soup without much substance before the "real" food hits the table. You know the method for making chicken broth/stock, where the vegetables are simmered to add flavor, then strained out to preserve the texture of the broth? Same principle at work here. That said, there’s no reason to strain out the veggies if you’re not concerned about the texture, or just don’t feel like messing with it. I’m hunting around for a good first-course soup and tried this one today according to the directions (only with a little extra garlic - personal preference) and I thought it was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Kelee
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that was HcG diet friendly and this one worked. I just sauteed the veggies in a nonstick pan and left out the butter. I also left out the leeks because I didnt' have any. I substituted basil and a pinch of mint leaves for the savory again because I didn't have any. I also added fennel seed and some crushed red pepper to give it a little kick. I also the veggies in as others suggested. Overrall I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States