Mushroom Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
What a wonderful, light soup! I added cooked quinoa just before serving. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was delicious! Lots of flavor! Like several other reviews, I left the veggies in, seemed a shame to waste them. I also used sage in place of the savory so I would not have to go to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Love this. I only used onions, skipped the butter and sherry to reduce the fat. It's a keeper recipe. I'm sure the butter and sherry only enhances the flavor. I'll try it next time with leeks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Kelee
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that was HcG diet friendly and this one worked. I just sauteed the veggies in a nonstick pan and left out the butter. I also left out the leeks because I didnt' have any. I substituted basil and a pinch of mint leaves for the savory again because I didn't have any. I also added fennel seed and some crushed red pepper to give it a little kick. I also the veggies in as others suggested. Overrall I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
To address the concerns about straining out the vegetables: The submitter’s description of the soup as a “first course” clears up the confusion, for me. If a light soup is served as part of a formal multi-course meal, it’s often a soup prepared just like this – a very light broth-based soup without much substance before the "real" food hits the table. You know the method for making chicken broth/stock, where the vegetables are simmered to add flavor, then strained out to preserve the texture of the broth? Same principle at work here. That said, there’s no reason to strain out the veggies if you’re not concerned about the texture, or just don’t feel like messing with it. I’m hunting around for a good first-course soup and tried this one today according to the directions (only with a little extra garlic - personal preference) and I thought it was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Our 'team' served this at an elegant fundraising dinner for 30, as the 2nd of 5 courses. VERY well received! Some modifications: - Used about 2/3 the qty of chopped mushrooms (crimini, rough-chopped) - Used 1-2 shitake mushrooms per serving, in lieu of reserved mushrooms (after straining). - Used double the qty of spinach leaves - Used Edward & Sons Not-Chick'n bouillon cubes in lieu of chicken broth (making it vegetarian) We DID strain the veggies, for our elegant meal. (but kept them, to add-back-in for hearty mushroom soup leftovers). One guest assured us that this mushroom soup was better than the offering she tried at a recent chef's competition in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have no doubt that this soup is every bit as elegant, prepared as written, as the submitter describes. However, I just couldn't see throwing out all those beautiful vegetables that not only cost a penny or two, but would add such wonderful substance and texture to the soup. I did make a few minor modifications in the preparation - olive oil rather than butter, a mix of button and baby bella mushrooms, and fresh thyme rather than the oregano and savory (it's what appealed to me at the moment, plus I had fresh thyme). I knew from the get-go that I was not going to strain the vegetables out, but once done the appearance of the soup just wasn't' moving me. So I removed about half of it, pureed it with my immersion blender, then returned it to the soup. Then I added the fresh chopped spinach, a little more than called for. When it was all said and done, this soup frankly exceeded my expectations, definitely tasting even better than it looked. The broth is rich and robust, no confusion whatsoever that it is mushroom based. I loved the slight thickness that pureeing half of the soup gave it, and I also liked the texture and interest that leaving the vegetables in the soup contibuted to this in the first place. The sherry is just enough to round the flavors out, and gives it a perfect, gourmet lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I omitted the sherry and leeks since we did not have any. I also left all of the veggies in. Why strain them out? They are tasty! I am not a spinach person but I LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Not great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Everyone loved this recipe, but I changed it quite a bit. instead of leaks, because I didn't have any, I minced 3 zucchini in the food processor. I added about 4 cups of fresh spinach. Instead of tomato paste I added fresh chopped tomatoes after cooking. I also added celery, cilantro, 3 TBSP of honey and 2 tsp cinnamon. Finally, I added goat cheese to make it creamy. So maybe a totally new recipe, but people really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States