Mushroom Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great omelet that you can definitely feel good about eating! I used egg beaters vs. egg whites and a whole egg for this. The red pepper flakes give this a really nice "kick" and just the right amount of heat. I left out the green pepper and instead used 2 Tbsp. of chopped green onion. In addition to the fresh spinach and mushrooms I threw in some tomato. The Parmesan and Cheddar cheeses were a really nice combination. This was perfect with whole grain toast and chilled OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
i opted for the non-healthy version and it was GOOD: 4 whole eggs, half a small tomato (diced), half a green onion, and 2 cups of spinach (it welts alot) and the same amt of dry ingr. instead of mixing the cheddar cheese into the egg mixture, i waited until it was almost cooked, sprinked a hand full on one side of the omelet, and folded it in half. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myem1108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
While this is not a particularly creative recipe, it's tasty and nutritious nonetheless. You leave the breakfast table knowing you did something good for yourself. Submitter directs to use some egg whites, but I couldn't go that far - I used four whole eggs. I was impressed that she called for just a small amount of olive oil, although I needed and used more like a tablespoon. And while the recipe calls for cheese, it's a reasonable amount, not gobs of it - on that I stuck to the recipe. I eliminated the red pepper flakes, giving this a few grinds of fresh ground pepper instead. All and all a great omelet - but one you will more than likely have to plan ahead for, unless you just happen to have all the ingredients at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
i used a type of "egg-beaters" from kroger instead of eggs. LOVED IT... very simple. used up some salad fixings when you get tired of eating just cold spinach salads.. divided it into quarters and put each quarter into a clow carb wrap for breakfast onthe go... girls at work were envious.. wanted to know which carry out i got it from :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I used red pepper instead of green and I did increase the amounts of the peppers and onion. I also used butter instead of EVOO. One of the best omelettes we've ever had--my husband and I really liked it. Our kids refused to try it. Too bad for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a very tasty versatile recipe. I substituted low-fat cheese, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. A dallop of salsa and a dallop of light sour cream served with a whole wheat tortilla (from Trader Joe's, they're the best) and you have a great healthy breakfast. And you can sautee any veggies you like to go in it. If you want to serve this on a school or work morning, just chop the veggies the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
An awesome combination of flavors! I ate the whole thing myself. I didn't have any green pepper or spinach, so I just used 1 c of mushrooms and 1/4 c onion. Next time I'll add the cheese right before folding it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Mushroom Spinach Omelet Haiku: "I love me some eggs! Nice little red pepper kick. Parm cheese is good too!" /Licks lips. I occasionally swap broccoli for the mushrooms, and, just my preference for preparation, I sometimes fold the pre-sauteed veggies inside the omelet, but the end results are always scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
this is crazy delicious.i could never imagine this combination of vegies will taste so fabulous.i could not stop eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yummo! This is a super yummy recipe! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I replaced the mushrooms with red bell peppers (allergy), and used green onions instead of the regular onion. Also added some fresh parsley, and it turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States