Mushroom Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was really good! I didn't have egg whites in a carton, and didn't want to waste eggs, so I just used 2 eggs. It still made 2 servings as suggested. I really liked that it used 1 cup of spinach and some other vegetables. Plus, the amount of oil and cheese was really sensible. I have had vegetable omelets, but never one with spinach. The spinach and mushroom are a great combination. For the mushrooms I used thinly sliced portabellas. The garlic powder gave the eggs a nice flavor to. The only thing else I really changed was not using the red pepper flakes and only using a sprinkle of black pepper for personal preference. Mine did stick for some reason. I may just saute the vegetables next time and make the egg part separate and see if that will work and just maybe reduce the salt a bit as parmesan cheese is plenty salty. Great healthy recipe. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I used fresh baby spinach, fresh mushrooms, green bell pepper, small red onion and 1 egg plus 3 egg whites. I followed the recipe directions and cooking method. I did not have any cheddar cheese on hand so I just used mozzarella in its place along with fresh grated parmesan reggiano cheese. I omitted the red pepper flakes and just used more fresh ground pepper. Easy to put together, fresh tasting and savory. I am used to omelets that required folding it over in half or thirds. This was a nice change to let it sit and cook until eggs were set and then cut into wedges. I served this along with some fresh cut local fruits (pineapple, strawberries, cantelope, honeydew melons, etc.) and a thick slice of Hawaiian Sweet Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
very good! my 3 year old can"t digest cow dairy, so I used some goat feta instead of the suggested cheeses, and used fresh minced garlic vs the garlic powder. I also added some coconut milk in with the egg since I wasn't using a "gooey" cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe is eggselent!! I prepared this recipe for dear hubby on father's day. He loved it. It was seasoned just right. Thank you Arlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was delicious, and easy to do. The only change I made was to use fresh minced garlic for the saute, and broccoli instead of spinach, since that is what I had! Thanks for another go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I made individual omelets using all the same ingredients except using one egg and one egg white. I didn't have garlic powder so I added a pinch of minced fresh garlic when I added the spinach. I loved the idea of pepper flakes in it and garlic! D-E-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I don't really like eggs but I make myself eat omelets for the protein-packet breakfast; this combination made eating the omelet good! I should have used just one egg instead of two because with all the veggies it was too big for me (didn't measure them out, just chopped and tossed them in). I didn't put enough salt in my egg mix, but that was my mistake. Also, instead of the open-face style, I stuffed half the ingredients into the folded omelet, just out of habit. Next time, I will follow the method in the recipe as it seems sooooo much easier. Thanks for a tasty breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Definately do not omit the crushed red peppers. I did the first time and it was bland but the 2nd time it had a blast of flavor. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~LoLa~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great omelet that you can definitely feel good about eating! I used egg beaters vs. egg whites and a whole egg for this. The red pepper flakes give this a really nice "kick" and just the right amount of heat. I left out the green pepper and instead used 2 Tbsp. of chopped green onion. In addition to the fresh spinach and mushrooms I threw in some tomato. The Parmesan and Cheddar cheeses were a really nice combination. This was perfect with whole grain toast and chilled OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Really good! Used a pint sized carton of egg beaters and about 1/4c skim milk .....amped up the amount of veggies, used about 1/2c each of shredded cheddar and 2% mozz. Also made this frittata style in a glass pie plate. Served with whole wheat toast, perfect meatless Friday dinner and healthy and filling to boot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States