Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Not a huge fan of thyme. But a great addition is dill. I have made this several times and change it up some each time. I have added Potato, spinach, beef, wine you can pretty much add in whatever you want. I have added sour cream and milk also to switch it up sometimes. But dill is the major change I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Saute garlic with the butter.. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this soup because I'm trying to eat more healthy. I used a small square package of portabellas (i think 4oz), and two (2oz)flat tray packages containing different types of sliced mushrooms. I made it exactly as described in the recipe above except I used a spoonful of coconut oil instead of butter (I rarely have butter at my house) to sauté the onions & stuff, used dried thyme, and I've never bought leeks before so I just left that out. I had to add a lot of sea salt because I bought no sodium chicken broth (should've bought low sodium one instead) and It tasted really good and fresh but...a little too simple & not satisfying enough for my taste at the time I made it (I was really hungry)...so I decided to experiment by mixing in 3 cloves of finely minced garlic and....this is gonna sound very strange but....I added 3 heaping spoonfuls of reduced fat JIF peanut butter and mixed it in till it melted into the broth...I let it simmer, mixed it a bit more, and PERFECTO! The broth was sooo good! It had perfectly satisfying meaty flavor-more complex, delicious, and less watery texture. This recipe is simple and good "as is" but for me, adding PB and garlic made it more spectacular and out of the ordinary. Next time I will try adding much more garlic like 4-7 cloves and maybe some okra. I highly recommend this recipe it's very healthy and delicious with or without peanut butter- but i would suggest you try adding it.along with some garlic if you want super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inspectorGadget
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I like to stick to the recipe the first time and then make changes. So glad I did, this was so good and so easy. I didn't have the "optional" leeks but hope next time to add them. I had organic chicken broth and for the mushrooms, I used 1/2lb baby bellas and 1-1/2lb white buttons. At the end I did use a hand mixer to smooth out about half of it. I thought this was very flavorful. Didn't even have to add the rice mix as noted in the footnotes as a possible addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Kathi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I am a soup lover, and this mushroom soup is outrageously delicious! It was extremely easy to put together, and as mentioned by another reviewer, I added garlic for additional flavour! Prepare to give your taste buds a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I prepare a box of Uncle Bens wild rice and add it at the end! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
When I first made this I was afraid I was going to be disappointed. Not so. I did make a couple of changes. One was to add a couple of cloves of garlic when cooking the vegies then I added 5 tbsp of wonder flour gravy mix to thicken it a bit. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James York

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Added the garlic as so many reviews suggested, used some dried mushrooms along with the button and portobello ones and went with a veggie broth and olive oil instead of butter. Also added a heaping tablespoon of organic miso paste. Garnished with grated parmesan reggiano. Yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This might be a great soup for other people but it wasn't my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Tasty and very easy to make! If you want to get around the brothiness, add some milk and a couple of tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA
Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States