Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This was very good and really easy. I used beef broth instead of chicken. I'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This soup is very tasty. I use a vegetable broth or stock. It is the perfect vegetarian soup. I tried it pureed and not. I can't decide which I like better. Last time I made it, I pureed about half then mixed it with the other. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
ohmygod...what a great soup. The few changes I made were cabbage instead of leeks( I didn't have any) added a tad of garlic, white button and portabella mushrooms, 2 can's veggie broth and a can of beef gravy instead of the chicken broth. The rest was the same. Other's like it pured, but I prefered it chunky. I will Definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A wonderful easy soup for a cold winter evening. I used a chopped onion instead of leeks, added chopped garlic, and used more of a chicken stock rather than a broth, but either would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
At first, I was skeptical because there are so few ingredients and is very simple to make, but its an excellent soup recipe and very flavorful. I was short on time so I used only leeks and onions (I doubled the amounts of each), used only 1 lb. of mushrooms and it was still very good. Will definitely make again and will also try it with beef broth, french bread and cheese for a French onion soup variation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Delightful,light but filling soup. Made this for lunch for my parents and paired it with Springtime Ham and Spinach Salad recipe from this site. May also add some fresh asparagus chopped next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
One of the best mushroom soups I've ever tried! Because garlic is good in almost everything I added three cloves of freshly chopped garlic when I sauteed the veggies; and because I was too lazy to make rice I added a handful of dry orzo to cook up as the soup simmered. I used my immersion blender to slighly puree a small amount of the soup which gave an illusion of creaminess; but still left it very chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Even my son who doesn't like mushrooms liked it. I had no thyme but sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top, with a sprig of fresh basil. Thanks for a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used a sodium reduced broth. I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Even those who don't like onions or leeks really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious and simple, not to mention pretty! Great presentation. I only used half the mushrooms because that was all I had, and it was still plenty chunky - I don't really think it needs a full 2 lbs. Anyway, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States