Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This smelled so wonderful as it was simmering, but unfortunately it didn't taste quite as good. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and omit the celery. Strangely, it didn't taste as mushroomy as I'd hoped. I'm not going to give up, though--next time, I'll add some shiitakes (I used all baby bellas this time), and I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and add rosemary and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
"Oh my" this soup was very good. I used white, cremini and portobellos. Loved the texture of the mushrooms and it has a very earthy taste. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love soups...cream of mushroom being my favorite. I had to toss this one out. It just tasted like dirty water., Maybe beef broth would work better with this recipe? sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This soup is fantastic! And because it has no cream, it's healthy and it freezes well. I add garlic, fresh parsley, and fresh rosemary, but skip the leeks. During the last 10 minutes of cooking time, I add a little flour to thicken it. When serving at a dinner party, I puree it and serve it with a sprinkle of crispy bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was so delicious. I only had ground thyme, so I added 1/2 tsp. That was perfect. I served this for a special occasion dinner, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
We used Mrs. Dash Italian Spices (it was in the house) but the soup was great The basic soup - great approach easy and hot and taste great - best soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very good. I used a mix of white, crimini, and shitake mushrooms. I also added a tablespoon of sugar to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginakinata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
When followed to the 'T,' the recipe is great for what it offers. It has a great blend of everything - flavor, freshness and uninhibited ingredients. I deviated slightly because I don't like leeks and there was no celery, so I just subbed other vegies. I pureed half the pot for thickness because my fiance won't eat "thin" soup. I liked it with the wild rice and parsley. I might try it with barley next time. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
we loved this recipe. we added fresh hot pepper to give it a kick and a little coriander. it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States