Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
As written this soup is pretty good. It needs some added flavor though. With some tweaking I think it could be great. I made it as written this time to see how it turned out. It definitely needs a few changes for my taste. I agree with other reviewers that beef stock might be better. I think it would lend a stronger flavor to the soup, and would compliment the mushrooms better than chicken stock. I also would add garlic next time, and maybe a splash of worchestershire sauce. It's a good base that I can adjust to suit my taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
As written I would say it was four stars. It seemed a little bland. I added wild rice and to kick it up on the flavor, added worchestire sauce and some heavy red wine. I think would also use half beef broth next time. But we really enjoyed this and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This soup was great! I also added the garlic and omited the leek. I did add a little extra onion as well. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla_P
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent, I used olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I wished I had some Worcestire on hand to deepen the flavor. This soup was ok but unremarkable. I added some acini de peppe pasta for texture and used crimini mushrooms. ADDED - it is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This soup was delicious. I added green beans that needed to be used up, and they were a great addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
So YUMMY!!! I loved this soup, amazing flavor with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This soup was awesome!! The only changes I made was I used beef broth instead of chicken. I mixed in wild rice when I served it. I would make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This really is a delicious soup - I enjoyed it with a chicken salad sandwich. I opted to add some finely chopped yellow squash instead of leeks and used a combination of garlic, curry, and white wine for the seasoning. Also added about a tsp of flour to the sauteed veggies just to thicken it up a bit as I did not want to puree and lose the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
a great recipe, but i found that by adding a table spoon of flour to vegetables it thickens the soup nicely also i used a lamb stock and found that this gave it a stronger flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States