Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This soup was delicious. I added green beans that needed to be used up, and they were a great addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
So YUMMY!!! I loved this soup, amazing flavor with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This soup was awesome!! The only changes I made was I used beef broth instead of chicken. I mixed in wild rice when I served it. I would make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This really is a delicious soup - I enjoyed it with a chicken salad sandwich. I opted to add some finely chopped yellow squash instead of leeks and used a combination of garlic, curry, and white wine for the seasoning. Also added about a tsp of flour to the sauteed veggies just to thicken it up a bit as I did not want to puree and lose the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
a great recipe, but i found that by adding a table spoon of flour to vegetables it thickens the soup nicely also i used a lamb stock and found that this gave it a stronger flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Wow this is good! I am actually eating it while I am typing this review. I made the mistake of not using enough mushrooms and I added Barley. Next time I will use the whole 2lbs of mushrooms and WAY less Barley (I only used 3/4 cup which was too much). The broth of the soup is phenomenal especially with the leeks and Thyme. I used a mixture of of Enok, Skiitake, Crimini, and Yellow Oyster Mushrooms for extra flavor. This is a really great soup and I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wow! This soup was so good! I appreciated the fact that it wasn't made with cream, which made the soup less heavy. It had a very pleasant mushroom flavor. I did add a bay leaf and some dried parsley to give it more flavor, since I did not have leeks or green onions on hand. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and cut down the amount. Since most of my family doesn't care for mushrooms, they wouldn't eat it, but those of us who do like mushrooms really loved this soup! I will be making it again; thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a delicious soup. I made it as described with the addition of garlic. When finished I thought that it was really good but needed a little help. I added a bit of beef stock and some red wine. It really perked up! This is a very healthy and satisfying soup. Low in fat and calories. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I didn't have leeks, used dried thyme instead of fresh, and used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to keep it vegetarian. I also simmered 1/4 cup of brown rice in the soup as it cooked, rather than the wild rice addition (although that sounds good too!) to make it just a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Holy Mushrooms Batman! This recipe is fabulous! I had to change it up just a little since I'm on a fairly strict sodium restriction: I used ~half low-sodium vegetable stock and ~half low-sodium chicken stock, didn't add salt at the end (just made sure the salt shaker was out for my wife) and used 3 cloves of garlic in the beginning. So tasty. I'm going to try it with Shitake mushrooms in the mix next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States