Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
A very good recipe to get your mushroom cravings taken care of! Simple prep and ready in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
As suggested by other reviewers, I added the garlic and Worcestershire sauce. I used a combo of portabella and shiitake mushrooms. I made this twice in one week. I had orzo in the pantry so that's what I used. Great soup and I love that it doesn't have cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Woww! This soup is so good.... My son, husband and myself really likes it. I omitted celery and leeks because I don't have any at home. But the soup still taste fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I definately will make this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My husband and I liked this. Just out of curiosity, I cooked and added a mixture of Minnesota wild rice and brown rice ; then, I blended some of the soup. It added a nice creamy earthy touch. I used crimini and shiitake mushrooms. Loved the leeks. Made my own chicken stock. I will definitely try this again. Makes a great hearty soup for cold nights in Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is excellent soup recipe to begin with, but adding in the fact that this is also a great Paleo and Primal, gluten- and grain-free alternative to the cream and barley based ones. Since I didn't have any leeks on hand and had a bunch of celery to use up, I instead modified this using the following: 2cups of carrots, onion and celery, 2 cans of sliced mushrooms, 1 quart veggie stock and 1 quart chicken stock, 1tsp dried thyme, and garlic salt to taste. This turned out wonderful and filling and am very happy to come across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
So delicious! I did try to puree and it was a little runny. Maybe less stock like 4 cups? Will be attempting next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very delicious! Admittedly, i changed a lot of things due to forgetful shopping and our tastes, but the flavor started with the recipe. I didn't have leeks so i doubled up on green onions, and I didn't have celery either (!) but it was still good. I used half white button mushrooms and half brown pearl mushrooms. I also added about 3/4 cup _cooked_ black'n'brown rice to the soup as it cooked, which added a nice texture and nuttiness. After cooking the soup, i quickly browned some chicken breasts and then added soup to the skillet to cook them the rest of the way. then, let it all mellow in the fridge. the next day, i tasted and it was missing something. added a splash of red wine to the soup and chicken breasts in a skillet and re-heated for dinner--yum! rich and delicious without any added oil, fat, or cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I've made this soup twice now. The first time with chicken stock and the second with vegetable broth. It was best with the chicken stock, but both were a little bland ... asking for more salt than I was comfortable using. It was good, but I'm still looking for a better broth-based mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was great! I didn't have any leeks, so I left them out, and the only thing I added that was different was a packet of onion-mushroom soup mix. I may try some white wine next time, but my husband said it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe! I omitted the carrots etc, and instead used one chopped white onion, and added some sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States