Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
So delicious! I did try to puree and it was a little runny. Maybe less stock like 4 cups? Will be attempting next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very delicious! Admittedly, i changed a lot of things due to forgetful shopping and our tastes, but the flavor started with the recipe. I didn't have leeks so i doubled up on green onions, and I didn't have celery either (!) but it was still good. I used half white button mushrooms and half brown pearl mushrooms. I also added about 3/4 cup _cooked_ black'n'brown rice to the soup as it cooked, which added a nice texture and nuttiness. After cooking the soup, i quickly browned some chicken breasts and then added soup to the skillet to cook them the rest of the way. then, let it all mellow in the fridge. the next day, i tasted and it was missing something. added a splash of red wine to the soup and chicken breasts in a skillet and re-heated for dinner--yum! rich and delicious without any added oil, fat, or cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I've made this soup twice now. The first time with chicken stock and the second with vegetable broth. It was best with the chicken stock, but both were a little bland ... asking for more salt than I was comfortable using. It was good, but I'm still looking for a better broth-based mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was great! I didn't have any leeks, so I left them out, and the only thing I added that was different was a packet of onion-mushroom soup mix. I may try some white wine next time, but my husband said it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe! I omitted the carrots etc, and instead used one chopped white onion, and added some sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
A good soup especially for a cold day. I changed it up a little; but, I'd say this is a great base to create from. I used more carrots, celery, and mushrooms. I added cumin as well. Also, for a bit of heat I added slices of jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGS3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Made this for a welcome to fall dinner. It was perfect uses great fall items!!! I used more celery/carrots/onions and replaced leeks with a little fresh sweet anise! Added a new yet subtle flavor and I also added garlic right before the mushrooms and pureed a little of the soup to thinken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I make this soup quite often and it's always a hit. I cook it as written. Great with garlic bread and a nice chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Delicious and so easy to make! The ingredients are simple but together they create a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States