Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was good, and certainly a healthy dish as written. It would be a good choice for someone wanting to eat lighter fare, and possibly wanting to reduce calorie intake. Essentially, this is a tasty broth with ample mushrooms. In reading the 84 reviews, it seemed to have a high percentage of reviewers deviating from the written recipe which makes one wonder whether to follow along and whether the rating is sound since they didn’t taste the real deal. Prepared the recipe as written, and in retrospect, wish we had adopted some of the changes others had made. We would probably not make this again unless there were dietary reasons to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I think this is very nice change of pace from the cream soup type of soup. I did add some wild rice to it, but it was fine without it. This would be a nice soup course at a dinner party. Hearty, yet not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I used this recipe as a base for a soup cooking experiment on a stormy day. Changes I made: - Skipped the butter, leeks and salt. - Used low sodium chicken broth. - Didn't measure any veggies...just chopped and tossed in three celery stalks, one large yellow onion, a bunch of carrots and mushrooms and about 1/2 of a green cabbage. - Added a few shakes of garlic powder and pepper and 1/8 t of dried thyme. - Added one box of Farmhouse long grain and wild rice (prepared in the microwave as directed then stirred in). - Added one packet of onion soup mix. I did garnish our bowls with green onions. My boyfriend added Sriracha for additional flavor. We enjoyed our new tasty soup with French bread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I doubled everything in this recipe except the mushrooms, i used only the two pounds I had, sliced thinly. I used 8 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups beef broth and I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic minced up. I did not add the green onions at the end. This recipe had a wonderful taste to it! Even my 18mth old loved it! For those like my hubby who can't fathom a meal without meat, I took some leftover pork chops, sliced the meat into thin strips, fried it with onions and served it over the soup. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
A very good recipe to get your mushroom cravings taken care of! Simple prep and ready in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
As suggested by other reviewers, I added the garlic and Worcestershire sauce. I used a combo of portabella and shiitake mushrooms. I made this twice in one week. I had orzo in the pantry so that's what I used. Great soup and I love that it doesn't have cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Woww! This soup is so good.... My son, husband and myself really likes it. I omitted celery and leeks because I don't have any at home. But the soup still taste fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I definately will make this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My husband and I liked this. Just out of curiosity, I cooked and added a mixture of Minnesota wild rice and brown rice ; then, I blended some of the soup. It added a nice creamy earthy touch. I used crimini and shiitake mushrooms. Loved the leeks. Made my own chicken stock. I will definitely try this again. Makes a great hearty soup for cold nights in Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is excellent soup recipe to begin with, but adding in the fact that this is also a great Paleo and Primal, gluten- and grain-free alternative to the cream and barley based ones. Since I didn't have any leeks on hand and had a bunch of celery to use up, I instead modified this using the following: 2cups of carrots, onion and celery, 2 cans of sliced mushrooms, 1 quart veggie stock and 1 quart chicken stock, 1tsp dried thyme, and garlic salt to taste. This turned out wonderful and filling and am very happy to come across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States