Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is abysmal. What a waste. Barbaric. A ruined rib roast and a ruined pot roast (use chuck next time). I gave it one star because I couldn't give it 0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The standing rib roast is delicious just roasting it, plus an expensive cut of meat. And a rib roast has a lot of fat (why it is so good), but it would be really fatty in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Absolutly a delight for a main course,but I used Chuck roast,it was so tender,and so easy to make! will make it again,thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this to the tee, and it was very bland. Maybe we just like more flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very tasty, but for me, using a standing rib, which is an expensive cut and which I prefer medium to medium rare and oven roasted, was not my choice. I used a pot roast cut which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Never in a million years would I cook a standing rib roast in a crock pot!! When I first read the recipe I thought it was a typo, it does sound delicious so I will definitely try it, just not with a rib roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I can't imagine wasting a standing rib roast, which is best served medium-rare, when a cheaper, pot roast cut would be just as good, if not better, in slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
If you don't use beer. I have found coca-cola works great to tenderize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Nice recipe; I had to substitute the standing rib roast (I didn't have the heart to crock-pot an expensive cut like that!), using instead a bottom round. I smoked it quickly on the Weber as well, and gave it a bit of char as well. Then into the crock pot, but substituted the beer with Young's Double Chocolate stout. Turned out fantastic! Thanks for the recipe posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForOne
Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
As I generally have no time to spare in the morning, the night before I placed fresh sliced mushrooms and onion on the bottom of the slow cooker, added a chuck roast that I had inserted fresh garlic into small slits, used the dry onion soup mix as a rub, and put it in the frig. The next morning I took it out, added a bottle of ale, and let it cook on low all day. The smell that greeted me when I walked in the door made my mouth water! It was tender and juicy. I thickened the sauce for gravy, and served it with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States