Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
beef was bitter and dry, mushrooms were not good, and the problem exists because the original poster and many reviewers have refused to post what "beer" they've actually used ... all beers are not the same and even the same type of beer is quite different between each brewer ... after seeing "dark beer" posted and an ocktoberfest beer mentioned i used 2 bottles of Paulaner's Octoberfest Mäizen which apparently was a huge mistake ... i will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This roast was delicious despite the fact that I chose a bitter beer (Guinness Draught). I didn't taste the bitterness until I tasted the sauce and it was an after taste. I hate bitter beers! My SO likes to trick me into tasting bitter beers just to see my "bitter beer face". Next time I make this, I'll use something I would drink. I should have known that because that's what they always say when cooking with wine. The beer did not ruin the roast and I used a cheapish 2 pound bottom round roast because there's only 2 of us. After about 10 hours, I couldn't slice it because it just wanted to shred. Tomorrow, I'll make cheese steak sandwiches with the leftovers. Thanks J for a great and oh so easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The meat turned out okay, but the mushrooms were not edible. We used Summit beer and maybe that was why the flavor was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I enjoyed this roast immensely. It has fewer calories than the pop and cream of Mushroom soup type of recipes. Loved it. I put potatoes and carrots in the pot also. Once finished made a gravy from beef bullion and 2 T pan drippings. Whipped the potatoes and served with gravy. Nothing left. Used only a 3 pound roast and only 6 hours in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE AND I ALWYAS ADD GARLIC, ONIONS CUSHROOMS AND SOMETIMES ADD CARROTS AND A PINCH OF CUMMIN....BEER IF AVAILABLE OR WHITE WINE....AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Fiske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very good recipe but not a lot different than pot roast. But I will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was phenomenal! I used Guinness and the flavour was amazing. It also made the most delicious gravy. EVER. Next time I may use a cheaper cut of meat (the cut itself was more expensive than I expected), but would make the exact recipe for a fancy company dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Kent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Used a rump roast and a bottle of Guiness. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This makes a tender flavorful roast. Even if it is pork, and you accidentally add spicy ranch dressing mix the first time you make it because you are going by memory. I have had this with beef, pork, and now with and without the accidental addition of ranch. Each way is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
very good but next time will use with a darker beer to see if the flavor is stronger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States