Mushroom Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I served this to friends for a Sunday Brunch and they absolutely loved it. I did make some adjustments while keeping the integrity of the dish. In place of the sausage I used turkey linguica, which make this a nice marriage of both my Italian and Portuguese roots. I used 12 eggs and reduced the milk to about 1 1/2 cups and used Foccacia rolls which I dried in the oven. Since the first one I made about 2 months ago, I have made several more everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Great start for the recipe but I really changed it up to boost the flavour. I made this for Mother's day brunch but I did alter the recipe quite a bit. Instead of canned mushrooms, I used fresh and sauteed them with about 1/4 cup of chopped onion and 1 tbsp butter. I substituted the bread for mini croissants and instead of Worcestershire I used a tbsp of grainy Dijon mustard. It was gone by the end of the brunch so it must have been loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doobies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The only change I made was to use fresh mushrooms instead of canned. This was a very nice dish.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Fabulous! I made this for Christmas morning brunch and my family went crazy over it! It was even better as leftovers. We are not big bacon lovers so I used Jimmy Dean's Sage Sausage in place of it (I pre-cooked it). Also, I used frozen hash browns (had them on hand) and pre-cooked them which made them a little mushy so will either use fresh potatoes for the hash browns or not pre-cook them. My husband is ready for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I toasted the bread cubes in the oven with olive oil and garlic, I also used fresh mushrooms (baby bellas) sauted. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was delicious...but I made some changes. I used a honey whole wheat bread and hot and spicy bulk sausage. I also dincreased the amount of worchestershire sauce to 2 teaspoons and added 1 teas. garlic powder as another reviewer suggested. It certainly is not bland made this way and with the honey wheat flavor, my husband raved about the combination of hot and sweet flavor. Another thing, I didn't make it up the night before, but I did allow it to sit for a hour before I baked it to let the bread soak up the egg/milk mixture. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this the night before for our New Year's Day brunch, and I have to say it was a success. Everyone loved it and my guests said it tasted great. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt like it needed extra seasonings, which I did while cooking. I added 1 tsp. rubbed sage, 1 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. garlic powder to the sausage as it cooked. I also did 5 slices whole wheat bread and 5 slices white bread instead of all whole wheat. Next time I will probably put a few more seasonings in the egg/milk mixture. Overall, very easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States