Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is a elegant, flavorful sauce. I used olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of beef, and cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder. It didn't thicken quite as much as I'd hoped, but it was fabulous over liver crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
We used diced onion and garlic instead of shallots and also substituted cornstarch for arrowroot. We used cremini mushrooms. It was a well balanced sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good sauce for steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amied

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This really does make a fantastic sauce. I used it during the holidays with a tenderloin - froze the leftovers and had it with chopped steak. Both times, I caught my 92-yr-old grandma (a tough food critic) wiping the last of it off her plate with her finger. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Fantastic! It's a very simple recipe with GREAT flavor. Served it with Barefoot Contessa's Turkey Meatloaf tonight and will use it with many other dishes in the future. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very good. I used baby bellas and sweet onion for the shallots. I did not have beef broth, so I used chicken and a bit gravy browner. Very tasty with roast lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good! I used about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of all of the butter. I also used some chicken soup mix with water instead of the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I used this for steak, didn't have arrowroot, but it was wonderful, the flavor was unbelievable.I let it simmer a good 30 minutes...the mushrooms were perfect.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I went searching for a sauteed mushroom recipe, and this is the one I decided to use. We cooked steaks and chicken on the grill, and it all went perfectly together. The shrooms were absolutely awesome. Will definitely use again and again. Next time I may use a little less broth because there was so much broth left over and not many shrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Served over sirloin beef tips -- Yummy! and I'm not even a fan of mushrooms. Made it and even my 2 yr old toddler (who eats nothing more than plain pasta most days) loved it. I used cornstarch in place of the arrowroot powder and just sprinkled enough until it got to the consistency I wanted. Remember, the sauce does thicken upon standing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States