Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This sauce is great. I also exchanged chicken broth for the beef broth, and white wine. I served it with roasted chicken. It was really easy (I bought the chicken already roasted, and ready to go). It turned a simple dish into a great company or Sunday dinner. This recipe will stay in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
I served this sauce on a phyllo sausage appetizer and it got rave reviews. Everyone wanted the recipe. I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Great Recipe - I served over delmonico steaks that were cooked on the barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Wonderful sauce for steak B.B.Q. or broiled. My sons loved it. Did not use arrowroot or tyme. Replaced shallots with garlic. And consumme instead of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This a great recipe. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Loved this! I usually serve beef tenderloin with a port/shallot/bacon reduction, but this is equally as good!! The only thing I changed was corn starch for the arrowroot. If everyone loves mushrooms, this serves only four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This is the most incredible mushroom sauce. My wife hates mushrooms but goes bonkers over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
This was a great recipe! It took a little time to make but it was like we were in a resterant. The only thing was that there was only two of us and it made tons! Will have to try it with guests over next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe! I received tons of compliments on it. The only thing I changed was using cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder. Tastes even better the next day with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Not sure if I really made this recipe but it came out great. I used margerine, white wine, green onions, chicken broth, and cornstarch. Must be the method and spices that give it that restaurant sauce flavor. Directions are a bit confusing. Note there are sliced mushrooms AND chopped mushrooms. My sauce was a little pale so I added a dash of browning sauce (Kitchen Bouquet) for color. Hubby was expecting it to be gravy though. Very gourmet tasting and not too overpowering to mask an expensive cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States