Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Wonderful sauce for steak B.B.Q. or broiled. My sons loved it. Did not use arrowroot or tyme. Replaced shallots with garlic. And consumme instead of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Excellent and easy! Great way to impress company. Subbed 2x corn starch for Arrowroot since I had none. Worked GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildchild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I went searching for a sauteed mushroom recipe, and this is the one I decided to use. We cooked steaks and chicken on the grill, and it all went perfectly together. The shrooms were absolutely awesome. Will definitely use again and again. Next time I may use a little less broth because there was so much broth left over and not many shrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Normally, I don't give 5 stars to recipes that I tweak. However, this was so well-received it warrants an exception. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream and doubled the cornstarch (no arrowroot) to thicken it up a bit. Served over chopped steak and smashed 'taters. This was SO good that my mother's husband, who is on hospice care and has zero appetite, cleaned his plate. The man is also a VERY critical foodie. He now says that I'm an excellent cook. Thank you, Jimmi. You made my dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This sauce is great. I also exchanged chicken broth for the beef broth, and white wine. I served it with roasted chicken. It was really easy (I bought the chicken already roasted, and ready to go). It turned a simple dish into a great company or Sunday dinner. This recipe will stay in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This a great recipe. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had mushrooms to use and was making pork and sauerkraut for New Years Day dinner so I made this to go on the pork roast. I changed it up by using white wine instead of red, chicken broth instead of beef, garlic instead of scallions and cornstarch instead of arrowroot. The sauce is fantastic. My DH practically licked the pan clean! I will be making this again, as written, for a beef dinner sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good! I used about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of all of the butter. I also used some chicken soup mix with water instead of the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was good but not great... will keep tweaking. I had no arrowroot so subbed tapioca. Also added tarragon, parsley, and basil to give it a little more depth. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I made this for Christmas Eve. It was absolutely delicious. Easy too. Used cornstarch instead of arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States