Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Excellent and easy! Great way to impress company. Subbed 2x corn starch for Arrowroot since I had none. Worked GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildchild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Just wanted to try something different. This was a thin sauce, not bad, but nothing special. I prefer A-1 steak sauce (guests did too). If you grill a good steak, it really doesn't need to be hidden under a sauce like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I used this to make mushroom stuffed pork chops. I made this with a medley of mushrooms, switched to white wine to go with the pork and added 1 clove minced garlic. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Delicious! If you want to make the sauce lower in fat, only use a bit of butter or olive oil and cook the mushrooms and scallions in water. It works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Very good... I'll probably never use steak sauce again. This really does taste like something you would get at a nice restaurant. My only change was to use cornstarch instead of the arrowroot (what is that anyways?). Very tasty and not very difficult to make either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Made this recipe for New Years Dinner, along with filet mignon. My guest raved about it, had to give recipe to several of them. Since we all like more a thinner texture, I didn't add the arrowroot or any corn starch. It's a keeper and cannot wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Loved this! I usually serve beef tenderloin with a port/shallot/bacon reduction, but this is equally as good!! The only thing I changed was corn starch for the arrowroot. If everyone loves mushrooms, this serves only four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Not sure if I really made this recipe but it came out great. I used margerine, white wine, green onions, chicken broth, and cornstarch. Must be the method and spices that give it that restaurant sauce flavor. Directions are a bit confusing. Note there are sliced mushrooms AND chopped mushrooms. My sauce was a little pale so I added a dash of browning sauce (Kitchen Bouquet) for color. Hubby was expecting it to be gravy though. Very gourmet tasting and not too overpowering to mask an expensive cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe! I received tons of compliments on it. The only thing I changed was using cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder. Tastes even better the next day with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This was very good. I made this for a barbeque roast pork. I didn't have any beef broth, duh, so I substitued veg. boullion. Very tasty. I used corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States