Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love this sauce! I make it for Thanksgiving as a vegetarian substitute for gravy. I use Cornstarch instead of arrowroot, add about a cup more chopped mushrooms, and I and if I want to make it vegan I use olive oil instead of butter. I vary the kinds of mushrooms I use (usually portobellas, regular white mushrooms, and some shitakes) I make also put it over pasta at home for a delicious simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I wanted to make some mushrooms to go over grilled steaks and I gave this recipe a try. I replaced the shallots with sliced onions and used cornstarch to thicken it. My husband loved it! This would go great over chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Perfect sauce to combine with egg noodles and meatballs. I had left-over grilled hamburger patties that I cut into cubes and re-heated in with this sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had mushrooms to use and was making pork and sauerkraut for New Years Day dinner so I made this to go on the pork roast. I changed it up by using white wine instead of red, chicken broth instead of beef, garlic instead of scallions and cornstarch instead of arrowroot. The sauce is fantastic. My DH practically licked the pan clean! I will be making this again, as written, for a beef dinner sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This sauce was excellent! I made it just how it was written (well almost, used corn starch, didn't have arrowroot) and served it with beef tenderloin for Christmas dinner. It tasted like it was from a restaurant. Heated it up the next day with left overs and it was just as good. It was perfect! This recipe will be my new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So much flavor! I cut it back and just eyeballed ingredients so I don't think mine was as "saucy" as it was supposed to be, but man was it good! I used fresh thyme cause that's what I like and used cornstarch instead of arrowroot cause that's what I had ;) Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Normally, I don't give 5 stars to recipes that I tweak. However, this was so well-received it warrants an exception. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream and doubled the cornstarch (no arrowroot) to thicken it up a bit. Served over chopped steak and smashed 'taters. This was SO good that my mother's husband, who is on hospice care and has zero appetite, cleaned his plate. The man is also a VERY critical foodie. He now says that I'm an excellent cook. Thank you, Jimmi. You made my dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wow! I just made this in 15 min. Super easy, fast, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Was looking for a sauce similiar in taste to my Mom's Bordelaise sauce; this one worked out well. I did add whole cloves and peppercorns in addition to the other herbs to make it taste more like my Mom's. As many others had said they didn't have arrowroot to thicken their sauces, I hate to admit I didn't have it either; I used cornstarch instead. I finished it with a splash of tarragon vinegar for brightness/freshness. The sauce hit the spot, thank you Jimmi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This sauce is DELICIOUS! I consider myself a pretty good cook, and this sauce made me feel like a pro! I grilled steaks and smothered this all over them and our plates were so clean when were were done eating we could have put them back in the cabinet : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States