Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is so delicious. I subbed 2 TB cornstarch for arrowroot, and onions for shallots since that's what I had. I used a few more mushrooms than called for. So easy, I don't know why we don't make sauces like this more often! Served over minute steaks and whole wheat gnocchi - perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a wonderful sauce. I made it exactly as written, served it over rib eye steaks, and my husband and I licked our plate clean. We used about half of it with the steak and potatoes, so the next day I put the remainder in a sauce pan, stirred in another cup of beef broth and brought it to a simmer. Then I added about a half cup of sour cream, stirred it in, and served it as soup. That too was wonderful. The only substitution I made in the original recipe as that I used cornstarch rather than arrowroot (not a staple in my kitchen). When I make it again I'll use a big more, as we would have liked it a bit thicker. I'll have to see how well this freezes. I'd love to make up batches of it, freeze it, and have it ready ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this was very good but time consuming since we decided to reduce it naturally instead of adding more and more cornstarch (never heard of arrowroot before).. yes this IS a recipe for mushroom SAUCE, but we wanted something more like a gravy to top over Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes and some chicken breasts that i pan fried for dinner.. bf says this is like mushroom gravy and coq au vin had a child.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect for mushroom and pastrami hamburgers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love this sauce! I make it for Thanksgiving as a vegetarian substitute for gravy. I use Cornstarch instead of arrowroot, add about a cup more chopped mushrooms, and I and if I want to make it vegan I use olive oil instead of butter. I vary the kinds of mushrooms I use (usually portobellas, regular white mushrooms, and some shitakes) I make also put it over pasta at home for a delicious simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I wanted to make some mushrooms to go over grilled steaks and I gave this recipe a try. I replaced the shallots with sliced onions and used cornstarch to thicken it. My husband loved it! This would go great over chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Perfect sauce to combine with egg noodles and meatballs. I had left-over grilled hamburger patties that I cut into cubes and re-heated in with this sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had mushrooms to use and was making pork and sauerkraut for New Years Day dinner so I made this to go on the pork roast. I changed it up by using white wine instead of red, chicken broth instead of beef, garlic instead of scallions and cornstarch instead of arrowroot. The sauce is fantastic. My DH practically licked the pan clean! I will be making this again, as written, for a beef dinner sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This sauce was excellent! I made it just how it was written (well almost, used corn starch, didn't have arrowroot) and served it with beef tenderloin for Christmas dinner. It tasted like it was from a restaurant. Heated it up the next day with left overs and it was just as good. It was perfect! This recipe will be my new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States