Mushroom Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This recipe was just OK for us. The gravy turned out to be a little sweet for our taste. I think it was the Ketchup which sweetened the pot...(excuse the pun...LOL). I will try it again, but next time I will omit the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
What I loved about this meal is that it took an inexpensive cut of meat and turned it into tender goodness. However, it's best made on a day off from work cause of the steps and time involved. It was a major hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The family really liked this. My 6 year old ate it too and he is pretty picky. Lots of flavor and uses stuff mostly from your pantry. I used an envelope of lipton soup mix and some water to substitute for the can of soup and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Loved how this turned out! I have to say that I changed a few things because of what I had in the house. I really hate changing things before I have tried it once, but I wanted to try it so I improvised. I didn't have the french onion soup so I used a can of beef gravy and sauteed some onions. I'm so sure of how "true" a replacement that was, but it tasted great. I also didn't have to use the cornstarch because it was very thick without it. I also didn't use the sour cream, again because I didn't have any. But it was really good and everyone loved it. I served over egg noodles. We will be having this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was easy and excellant. I used 10 ounces of sliced fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I also used the cornstarch as I found it was needed. The sour cream made it dynamite. I served it with oven roasted red potatoes cooked in beef broth and smothered in roasted onions. Good combination. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This rescipe takes some time to prepare but is well worth the time. The flavor is wonderful with the sour cream. No need for cornstarch it was allready thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This ended up like beef stroganoff - I certainly didn't need to thicken with cornstarch - it already had a gravy-like consistency. The flavor was ok, and the meat was very tender! However, visually - (my family thought it looked very unappealing). Won't do it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe was easy to make, the meat was tender and it had a good flavor. I wasn't sure if we would like sour cream gravy so I made half the juice into gravy without sour cream and half with sour cream. We definitely did not like the sour cream gravy on mashed potatoes. It was OK on the meat. I would make this recipe again but leave out the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States