Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Excellent rice dish. Must mention that you must use Arborio rice in order to achieve maximum creaminess! I substituted chicken instead of vegetable broth and omitted the celery. My friends raved all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I made this for a dinner party, and it makes way more than four servings! All of it was eaten, though, and everyone thought I was magic or something. I did used skim milk and fat free half and half instead of whole milk and heavy cream, and it was plenty rich and creamy. Definitely worth the effort if you want to impress a date or a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
A good recipe overall. Use half the cream. The 5 cups of broth are more of a maximum amount you will need - use common sense and stop adding broth when the rice is cooked. I used chicken broth instead and added chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
this is not rissotto. Is is a nice mushroom rice but real rissoto does not contain milk. The creaminess comes from the starch in the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
absolutely delicious - I didn't have cream so I didn't bother, but it didn't need it, still was really creamy. took forever to cook but was worth it. I added dried rosemary and fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
What a delicious tasting risotto!! I substituted minced garlic, dried parsley and used skim milk. Made no difference to the taste. Directions incomplete. Did not tell you how or when to add the chicken broth. However, as I had made risotto before I knew to add it, one cup at a time. Would highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
really good recipe!! it was my first ever risotto & it turned out to be pretty tasty!! make these minor adjustments to make it perfect : 1. completely skip cream. it makes the risotto too heavy. 2. you dont have to add all 5 cups of broth. use common sense; when the rice tastes right, you should stop adding broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I served this risotto as a side dish, with london broil and caesar salad, for my husband's birthday dinner. Everyone loved it. My mother-in-law helped me make the risotto and it came out great. We increased the recipe to serve six people. We used a variety of exotic and dried mushrooms including black trumpet mushrooms. We soaked the dried mushrooms in warm water for 30 minutes. We saved this mushroom water and included it with the broth. We used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock and we used Arborio rice (a must for risotto). To keep things moving quickly we warmed the broth in a large pot along side the risotto on the stove. We had a little extra broth left over (probably because we added the additional water from the mushrooms). It took about 30-40 minutes for the rice to absorb all the stock. Great recipe. We will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wow, this was delicious!! Next time, I'm going to leave out the celery as it gave it a weird, and unnecessary flavor. Everything else was superb! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a very good risotto. I had some mushrooms that I needed to get rid of, so I used 2 full cups of mushrooms instead of 1.5 and it didn't seem like too much at all. I used only one medium yellow onion, left out the celery because I didn't have any, used nonfat milk instead of whole, and only used 2 cups of the vegetable stock (5 seemed like way too many and 2 plus the milk & cream cooked the arborio rice just fine). My husband ate about 90% of this recipe in one sitting for dinner. I guess he liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States