Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was a BIG hit with my family. Instead of the milk & cream combo I used fat free half & half. I went by something I saw on Martha Stewart a few years ago and sauteed the arborio rice first, then started adding the broth a little at a time while continuously stirring. I added the half & half towards the end. Served it with fontina cheese and a few roasted red pepper slices on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have cooked this a few times and the family love it. I don't add cream but do add the milk. Wine is added if available. Different mushrooms and lots of them chopped small with onions work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious though I made the following changes based on other comments: 1 medium onion instead of 3 small, substituted and extra 1/4 cup milk for the heavy cream, 2 cups of veggie broth instead of 5, 3-4 cups mushrooms instead of just 1 1/2 cups, and 1/3 cup parsley instead of a measly teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used cooked white rice, 2% milk and only 2 cups of the vegetable stock. Restaurant-quality meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was delicious! My husband and kids loved it! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I love this recipe! So flavorful and delicious. That being said, am I the only one who thinks 3 onions, even small ones, sounds like A LOT of onion for a recipe that is supposed to only serve 4 people? I like onions as much as the next person, but that seems really excessive. When I make this recipe I switch the onion and garlic quantities; so 3 cloves garlic and one onion. I also replace both the milk and the cream with fat free half and half. The recipe doesn't state what type of rice to use, so I generally use brown. I have used the generic take-forever-to-cook brown rice and it works fine, but I have found 2 pouches of Trader Joe's frozen brown rice works great and cooks so much faster. Which is great because, well, sometimes a girl is just too hungry to wait! P.S. It's a good idea to wait until all the vegetable stock is in before you add the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Cooking this right now. A co-worker and I do a food swap every couple weeks. He makes puerto rican and spanish foods and I make him italian. This week was rice so I'm making him this. He has a mushroom allergy so I just replaced them with carrots. Haven't made risotto in years and this recipe was very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Calcara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michel
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Easy and so good. I used Chicken broth, half and half (didn't have heavy cream). I also didn't have Parmesan anymore, so i used a mix of kraft dinner cheese. Sound silly, but it was Terrific:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Really good. Next time I will add less cheese. The parm seemed a bit over powering. Overall delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this twice, first time "to the letter," second time with some alterations. Though as-is it is very good, the second go-round I halved the onions, eliminated the heavy cream and used chicken broth - only because I didn't know I was out of veggie when the process began. Though not a monumental difference,the 2nd effort was better. It was a little bit lighter (though no less creamy), the chicken broth added more flavor, and the onions were more on par with my preference. I hate when onion overpowers the dish. All in all a great recipe and one I shall return to to tweak yet again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States