Mushroom Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Excellent, but had to add maybe 1/4 cup cream to this to make it extra good. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
great with mashed potato side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I was searching the web site for a topper to our grilled steaks. Came across this gem. I didn't have port wine so I used dry white wine. I think any kind of wine will do. Next time, I'm going to reduce the mustard in half. This would also go great on top of mashed potatoes. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I wanted a sauce for lamb chops. Normally, I would grill the chops and serve plain, but I wanted some extra flavor. This was unbelievable. I didn't measure the mustard, but it was much less than the 1/4 cup called for - I wanted to insure I tasted the port with the lamb, and didn't want an overwhelming mustard flavor. Other than that, kept everything the same. It was yummy! Served with seared lamb chops, smashed potatoes, and steamed cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this sauce on christmas to go with beef tenderloin and it was amazing. Everyone raved about it. Now I did not have any beef broth so instean i made my own with bullion cubes and water and it still turned our great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was an emergency whip up and then I realized I was out of port wine! So I checked the booze cabinet, turned upa bottle of madeira, so I ended up making madeira sauce and just lighted up a little on the dijon. It was very good. I always like to have some quick and easy sauce recipes in my back pocket, to add some life to boring old grilled chicken or pork. This definitely will stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good sauce. Took about 10mins to thicken up after adding the stock. I finished it with a splash of cream instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States