Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My husband and I LOVED this! I added 1/4 of white wine when I added the cream and cooked the bacon about 5 minutes before I threw in the onions and mushrooms. The puff pastry was light and fluffy...the perfect comfort food! Leftovers were amazing too. I ended up draining some of the sauce before I placed the mixture on the dough, and then we used that as a nice topping when I served it. :-) Next time, I plan to add spinach to the mix! Yummmmo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Whatley Few

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyRose13
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Bottom line: delicious. Hubby asked that it be put into our regular dinner menu rotation. Details: I'm not a fan of dill, so I swapped it out for fresh thyme and sage. Couldn't get any puff pastry in time, so we used pie crust. And I didn't have any Swiss cheese, so I used the lite Havarti I had in the fridge. I also threw in a clove of garlic, just because. Absolutely heavenly. Can't wait to try it again with the puff pastry! Although, if I do, I won't be able to use my adorable woodland creatures cookie cutters on the crust. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was so delicious! I put the mushroom mixture in ramekins and topped each one with a round of puff pastry then baked. Christmas 2013. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! I followed some feedback from others and used 1 pie shell, added shitake mushrooms in addition to criminis and substitued cream with part reduced fat sour cream and part half and half. Hubby loved it! Will definitiely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Came out a tad 'wet'. Will give this a go again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
My family and I loved this recipe. I used Portabella mushrooms, Half and Half instead of cream, and dried Dill (couldn't find any fresh). I doubled the Dill since it was dried, but will add more next time as I really liked the taste and think it could use some more. The only other change I made was to deglaze the pan with some white wine and add it to the final mix. Outstanding flavor and easy to make; I'll be making this again. UPDATE: We have made this several times now as it is often requested. We mistakenly picked up fillo dough once and it might even be better. We discovered that we like to add some extra grated Swiss cheese on top of the filling before putting on the top. This makes a nice chewy crust that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was wonderful! I did make one change--when I tasted the pie filling, it seemed rather bland to me, so I sprinkled in about a 1/2 tsp rosemary. Perked the dish right up! Tasted so fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I thought it was pretty good! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I hardly ever add salt to things though and I felt this needed it. I'll definitely try it again, but maybe add in some garlic salt or something. It was a tiny bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made this last night, it was excellent. This is an absolute keeper. Made it exactly as the recipe called for. If you love mushrooms this is a perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terivieira1
Living In: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I did not have dill so I used some garlic instead. Had no cream so replaced with sour cream. Will definitely make this again as my husband raved about t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States