Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Enjoyable, especially for a recipe I picked to use up what was in the house! What surprised me most was that DH liked it too. He did say that it was too rich to eat a lot and suggested turning it into tiny turnovers for an appetizer. I only made one ingredient substitution, which was to use sour cream (added off the stove with the cheese) instead of heavy cream (didn't want to go to the store). I did have an issue with the recipe instructions. Putting the onion, bacon and mushrooms in the pan all at once resulted in the bacon staying quite unappetizingly flabby and pink and streaked with fat. I had to cook the mixture WAY longer to get the bacon to render most of the fat. I'd suggest cooking the bacon a few minutes, then adding the onion, cooking again for a bit and finally adding the mushrooms and cooking until they are done. Also, puff pastry rises and gets crisp better at 375 than the 350 the recipe calls for. I'd definitely recommend trying the recipe with puff pastry. The crispy lightness is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Oh my gosh this was awesome. I didn't use the dill and I had to use sour cream because I was out of heavy cream. Also, I baked in a pie shell because that's what I had. Will definately be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was the best recipe...everyone that tastes it wants the recipe. I made it a little lower fat the second and third time I made it and still got rave reviews. I omitted the bacon and used fat free half and half. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was quite good! Like other reviewers, I used a pie crust (both top and bottom) in place of the puff pastry, and increased the filling amounts by half again to fill the pie (i.e., 15 oz of mushrooms, etc). It was quite tasty and filling. If using a pie crust, here is the baking time/temp I used: Preheat oven to 425 degrees and bake for 40-50 minutes until golden. Cover edges of pie with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was pretty good but it wasn't enough food for my family for dinner! I ended up adding broccoli to the mushroom, onion and bacon mixture. Mixing that mixture with swiss cheese and four eggs and baking at 300 for about an hour. I omitted the pastry but I bet that would have been good too. This receipe as is would probably make a great brunch or party dish! It just isn't large enough for a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The combination of the ingredients is fantastic! Thank you very much for the idea of how to put all my favourite things together! Next time I might try frying onion in butter first, adding 2-3 cloves of garlic and sour cream instead of cream like my Russian grandmother does. My boyfriend said the pie was immense and then ate it all, so I don’t even know if it’s better cold or not, must be equally good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Absolutly wonderful! I used Monteray Jack cheese instead of swiss. I also added some white wine and a little minced jalepeno pepper for some bite. Great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I made this as a tart, omitting the top pastry sheet, and it turned out great! Friends loved it, and it's easy and quick to make. It will definitely be part of my repertoire of recipes for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe as written, except to add 3 cloves of minced garlic. For the reviewer who thought the bacon would be raw - the bacon cooks with the saute and finishes in the oven. For the reviewers who found it runny, you didn't let it cook down enough. When the cheese is added it firms up beautifully. It was easy and delicious. Thank you, and your mum Gatoula. This will make a regular appearance on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
YUM....I made this for Christmas and it was a big hit with the family. A definite keeper! The only change I would make next time is to reduce the cream slightly since I had quite a bit left over that I couldn't fit within the sheet of pastry without it leaking out. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States