Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was excellent. Just make sure you bring the cream up to a boil, so it will thicken enough. Otherwise it will run down the sides of the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was quite good! Like other reviewers, I used a pie crust (both top and bottom) in place of the puff pastry, and increased the filling amounts by half again to fill the pie (i.e., 15 oz of mushrooms, etc). It was quite tasty and filling. If using a pie crust, here is the baking time/temp I used: Preheat oven to 425 degrees and bake for 40-50 minutes until golden. Cover edges of pie with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
i didn't have any swiss cheese so I used gorgonzola cheese and used a frozen pie crust to substitute for the puff pastry,and philo dough on top. turned out great!!! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this for Easter yesterday and OMG delicious! I did add garlic to mine and about 1/2 pound ground beef. This was so good I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I left out the bacon as we've vegetarians but did use the cream. Made the mistake of using 1/2 and 1/2 rather than heavy whipping cream. I assume that is why my sauce ran out all over the baking sheet but it was still... soooo good. Would suggest letting the mix cool a bit before adding to pastry dough. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
this receipe was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very good - even my hubby who is a basic meat, potato, bread & butter man said he really liked it. A winner will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Made this twice within 3 days. First time followed the recipe but used tarragon instead of the dill. Second time made it into a meal by adding browned ground beef. Both came out great. Really like the idea of making individual ones for snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My family enjoyed this very much. I did use diced ham instead of bacon, and chopped fresh spinach leaves.I will try it again with asparagus and different kinds of cheese. Don't count on feeding many hungry people, it was enough for three but wouldn't have fed four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I made this dish over the weekend using fresh baby bella mushrooms. It was excellent! To make this a little lower in fat, I used decreased the heavy cream to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 of fat free sour cream. Since I didn't have a pastry, I also used a pie crust as suggested previously and with about 10 more minutes of cooking time, it still came out great. My boyfriend raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States