Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was wonderful. I used a combo of mushrooms (shitake,cremini,white,portobello)and tarragon instead of dill. Used the puff pastry shells and filled them with mushroom filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was SOOO GOOD and baked so beautifully! I took it to a potluck dinner; my dish was the only one to be completely cleaned and everyone wanted the recipe! After adding the cream, I cooked it until the cream was reduced... After placing the mixture on top of the first sheet of pastry, I brushed the edges with an egg/water mixture and then after placing the second sheet of puff pastry, crimped the edges with a fork. I didn't have any problems with run-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This made an excellent appetizer! I love most anything that calls for puff pastry and this was no exception. I used fat free half and half and some white wine for flavor. Sherry would have been really nice, but I didn't have any in the house. I cooked the mushrooms until most of the liquid evaporated so I had no problems with "run off". Absolutely delicious and thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was great - I used milnut instead of cream. I baked it the day before and then reheated it for 30 minutes at 325. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I was worried about making this pie as I am not that confident a cook.It was unbelievably simple to prepare and boy is it delicious! I have made it three times in as many weeks and will continue to do so.It freezes well and my husband loves taking a slice to work for his lunch. I usually have a little filling left over which is really tasty on top of some wild rice. This is a superb recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was excellent. Just make sure you bring the cream up to a boil, so it will thicken enough. Otherwise it will run down the sides of the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was quite good! Like other reviewers, I used a pie crust (both top and bottom) in place of the puff pastry, and increased the filling amounts by half again to fill the pie (i.e., 15 oz of mushrooms, etc). It was quite tasty and filling. If using a pie crust, here is the baking time/temp I used: Preheat oven to 425 degrees and bake for 40-50 minutes until golden. Cover edges of pie with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
i didn't have any swiss cheese so I used gorgonzola cheese and used a frozen pie crust to substitute for the puff pastry,and philo dough on top. turned out great!!! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this for Easter yesterday and OMG delicious! I did add garlic to mine and about 1/2 pound ground beef. This was so good I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I left out the bacon as we've vegetarians but did use the cream. Made the mistake of using 1/2 and 1/2 rather than heavy whipping cream. I assume that is why my sauce ran out all over the baking sheet but it was still... soooo good. Would suggest letting the mix cool a bit before adding to pastry dough. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States