Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Enjoyable, especially for a recipe I picked to use up what was in the house! What surprised me most was that DH liked it too. He did say that it was too rich to eat a lot and suggested turning it into tiny turnovers for an appetizer. I only made one ingredient substitution, which was to use sour cream (added off the stove with the cheese) instead of heavy cream (didn't want to go to the store). I did have an issue with the recipe instructions. Putting the onion, bacon and mushrooms in the pan all at once resulted in the bacon staying quite unappetizingly flabby and pink and streaked with fat. I had to cook the mixture WAY longer to get the bacon to render most of the fat. I'd suggest cooking the bacon a few minutes, then adding the onion, cooking again for a bit and finally adding the mushrooms and cooking until they are done. Also, puff pastry rises and gets crisp better at 375 than the 350 the recipe calls for. I'd definitely recommend trying the recipe with puff pastry. The crispy lightness is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is AMAZING! I didn't have any puff pastry so I used a frozen pie crust and it worked perfectly - I did add some extra mushrooms to fill it completely. I also used fat-free half and half and a combination of swiss and havarti cheese. I will definitely make this again! INCREDIBLE!! Thank you for sharing the recipe for a mushroom-lovers dream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Gatoula, this is delicious! The puff pastry takes it over the top! Once, when I had none in the house, I used Pillsbury Crescent rolls. Baked them up first in an 8x8 Pyrex, making sure some of it went up the sides (you'll need 2 rolls for that method.)Added the mushroom mixture and baked about 20 minutes longer @ 325. It was outstanding that way, as well. My husband would even eat this stuff right out of the frying pan. Thank you so much for the recipe! He has requested it a dozen times since I first made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
My husband enjoyed this very much. I added spinach, which he loves and which I don't, so I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have without the spinach, but I will definitely save this one. I ended up making it with canned mushrooms as my husband misunderstood my grocery list, and I used a refrigerated pie shell instead of puff pastry, but everything came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Amazing! We used pre-made pie crusts and mozzarella cheese it turned out wonderfully. It has a kind of carbonara flavor that is just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kuratenko
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a fabulous savory pie. I used blue cheese instead of chedder, and cooked some spinach with mushroom and onion because I wanted my hubby to eat greens. I used sour cream like other reviewers suggested. It looked so festive too because I made lattice pattern on the top. Nice vegetarian main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Wow! Exceptional... My son is allergic to egg, so this recipe was perfect for his birthday party. I read the other reviews and followed some of the suggestions and came up with my own version that was easily a favorite amongst my guests. I doubled the mushroom and bacon, instead of dill I used tarragon, used white wine, increased the heavy cream to 1-1/4c and used 1-1/2c Jarlsberg cheese. I baked it in a large glass pie dish until golden and puffed. I made this the night before the party and just reheated it in the oven for approx. 20-25min. Like I said, it was definitely a major hit and was the first to go. Easily my new favorite recipe and recommend it to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! My husband and I had it for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. I omitted the bacon and used light cream and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Edible, but only barely. It was incredibly bland. We ended up nibbling and making something else. Great idea, but no flavor to back it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Fantastic! I doubled the filling recipe but only used one package of pastry. I rolled the pastry out just enough to fit a 10" quiche pan. I took this to a party and before I turned around, it was gone! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States