Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Changed The Wter To Chicken Stock And Made My Hubby happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a huge hit! Even the mushroom haters couldn't get enough of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious! Substituted yellow onions for pearl, and used white wine with lemon. The recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is fantastic. I used chicken broth and about 3/4 cup of coarsely chopped onion. ( I didn't have pearl onions in the house) I used Sauvignon Blanc wine. I served it with Chicken Asparagus Roll Ups from this site. Just a little mixed greens with strawberries and sugared pecans, and Hazelnut raspberry dressing on the plate also.. It looked beautiful and tasted great. You can make the roll ups ahead of time. A wonderful company dinner. I think this was my DH favorite dinner ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe which will definitely be repeated again. I used two tablespoons of garlic butter and some olive oil to cook the onions. Didn't have fresh parmesan on hand so I used the dry stuff that comes in the shaker bottle, worked out great. Still salivating at the thought of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very good. I used chicken stock instead of water. I also did not have pearl onions and used a small onion chopped to the size of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I only use a 1/4 cup of butter. I also use chicken broth of veggie broth instead of water. I add 1 cup mushrooms. I don't salt it since there is Parmesan cheese, which give enough salt. I'm sure the recipe in its original would be great too. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Okay, I made a number of changes, but I think I still got the gist of this recipe. I used a whole package of mushrooms. I also used chicken broth instead of water and fresh garlic instead of powdered as other reviewers recommended. I reduced the parmesan to 1/4 of a cup. and the butter to 6T. This turned out very good. My family loved it! I didn't have orzo, but I did have cut spaghetti so I used that and cooked it as if it were risotto (small amounts of liquid added and absorbed before adding more liquid). I think this would work well with short grain rice, arborio (risotto) rice, orzo, or the cut spaghetti. I also think it is very good without the parmesan if you don't have any on hand. I can't wait to make it again to serve with steak and asparagus. Yum! All in all, a great recipe to tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Absolutely awesome recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of water, chopped white onion and fresh garlic but everything else per the recipe. You cannot go wrong with this recipe...great as a side dish or the main. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States