Mushroom Melt Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
YUMMMM!!!!! I have to say that we totally LOVED this chicken! I made a couple of changes tho :-) I always do... I scaled this recipe down to 6..well I used 3 whole chx breast and cut em in half then pounded them out and had 6 pcs. I used EVOO and 2T butter to saute my cremini mushrooms, onion and garlic in. After the mush turned soft, I added a lil (only a sm amt, bc the bacon will have alot of salt) S&P. I added about 2T heavy cream to the mush mix then about 2T (ish) It. brd. crumbs. I didn't shred anything...I used 1 lg garlic clove as well. I used sliced Havarti cheese. (slice BF ham, hav ch, mush mix, then put it on top of my thin chx brst and roll it.) I also used balsamic vinegar to brush on my chicken after I rolled them...it added another depth of flavor. Absolutley use the bacon pcs on the chicken, bc OMG they are PHEONOMINAL!! Be sure to broil for 10 mins after cooking!!! I put my chx on a rack on a foil covered baking sheet...less mess. We LOVEDDDDD these...I made Easy Mushroom Rice from this site...if you want that to be awesome, also check out my review :-) Thanks sooooooooo much for sharing your awesome recipe, dude, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe is very easy to make, and makes my kitchen smell absolutely delicious. Instead of flattening the chicken and rolling it, I stuffed the chicken with the ingredients. I also use crushed bran flakes instead of bread crumbs for a healthier version. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misspeanut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Due to lack of time I prepared this as more of a casserole and it was fabulous! I put one can of cream of mushroom on the bottom of a 13x9 pan, hammered out the chicken (salt and peppered) and placed on top of the cream of mushroom. Prepared the onions and mushrooms as suggested and placed on top of the chicken breasts. Covered with cheese and baked for 40 minutes @ 350. It was fabulous this way so I can imagine the original recipe is amazing as well. Will try the way it is written when time is permitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This took a little extra effort than most baked chicken dishes, but with some tweaking to suit my tastes, it was fun preparing it, and we enjoyed eating it. It was nice to have something a little more “fussy” and interesting. When I chopped up the mushrooms and onions, I did so till the mixture was a fine mince and added some garlic as well. (I meant to deglaze the pan with a little white wine, which would have been nice, but I forgot) I skipped the bread crumbs entirely and just as I suspected, we didn’t miss them. As for the cheese, wouldn’t you know I had just about everything BUT Havarti in the fridge but there are any number of acceptable substitutes – in a pinch any semi-soft cheese will do. I used a Pepper Jack for mine, but in consideration of Hubs’ sensitive innards I used just a mild Cheddar in his. Rather than piling the mushroom-onion mixture and the cheese on the chicken in a blob, I spread everything over the surface of each breast and then rolled it up pinwheel-style. Wrapping each with two slices of bacon was not only too much, it resulted in the bacon underneath staying unattractively fatty and gloppy. One slice, cut in two pieces and laid over the top, would have worked much better. Not only did we not miss the bread crumbs, I don’t think I’d miss the cheese either. You wouldn’t be sacrificing any flavor or compromising the dish by eliminating both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I changed the servings to 4 on the recipe. Imagine my surprise when it called for 76 cups shredded cheese?? I figured out how much to use and it turned out great. It was a bit too salty and I think it might have been because I used a thick sliced bacon. Next time I'll try it with thin sliced bacon. Your girlfriend is a lucky gal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Another great way to serve chicken! I used portabello mushrooms instead of white button mushrooms and the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
A new favorite! However I had no choice but to make some adjustments. 1st, I didn't have harvarti cheese and 2nd, I didn't want to use the ham I had (intended for another dish). So I didn't wrap the chicken with the bacon but baked and crumbled my thick maple bacon before hand. I followed another reviewers suggestion and added a lil heavy cream to my sauted baby bella's, chopped garlic and parmesan cheese, along with the seasoned bread crumbs. I stuffed each breast with Munster cheese, stuffing mix and bacon bits. Instead of leaving the chicken alone to bake as is, I mixed cream of mushroom & cream of chicken soup with sour cream and topped the chicken; added more munster cheese and provolone on top of that! It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Winner Winner Chicken Dinner! Soo good! Followed the recipe, except I didn't have bread crumbs, so I used Panko. Worked fine! I also made a basic white sauce with some garlic powder, parmesan, s&p, and parsley. This sauce was really nice over top of it! (I made it for some steamed broccoli and ended up pouring some on the chicken.) I made it with roast potatoes for my boyfriend tonight. He thinks he'll keep me. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
To get the bacon to crisp we added 5 minutes to the time. The bacon did crisp then but the chicken was still white and on the verge of getting dry. A little more stuffing would be better, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I like to use crushed Caesar Salad Croutons (they do add a flavor boost) instead of bread crumbs, simply because we always have some in the cupboard. I like the brushing with balsamic vinegar suggested in a review also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States