Mushroom Melt Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I made a bit extra, but it wasn't necessary, as these are very filling. However, I'm glad I did, because everyone had seconds. Not a leftover to be seen. I swapped buttons for portabellos. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Loved it! Made it for some friends and they really enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again. Will recommend to flip the breast over when broiling so that bottom of bacon gets crisp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi Esca
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Delicious, I also tweaked the recipe, I didn't have bread crumbs so I omitted. I only had American cheese and i added turkey bacon and turkey slices. I only made enough for three and it took 45 minutes. Omg! Delicious. Thank you for this new favorite dish. Do not add extra salt bacon had enough to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Esca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy to prepare looks great and tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
omg, this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe rocks! Like several before me, I, too, changed it! My girlfriend has many food allergies so cooking for her is a very delightful challenge. She can't have gluten so I eliminated the bread crumbs. She is allergic to casein and capsaicin so the butter and Havarti-pepper cheese are out. I exchanged 2T Earth Balance and 2T EVOO[Favalosa(FS17)] for the butter and for the Havarti I used a sheep's cheese called Ewephoria(yes it is!). The bacon was Hempler's honey smoked no-nitrate. As the bread crumbs were eliminated, there was lots of liquid left in the pan. The fried potatoes for tomorrow's breakfast are marinating in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this to go with a ham for Easter brunch and even though I doubled the batch there was nothing left. My family attacked them and then asked for more. I did everything exactly according to the recipe except for the cheese I used Provolone slices and I made a sauce to go on top that enhanced the flavors even more. Sooo so good will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is great recipe, I made it and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
To get the bacon to crisp we added 5 minutes to the time. The bacon did crisp then but the chicken was still white and on the verge of getting dry. A little more stuffing would be better, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This took a little extra effort than most baked chicken dishes, but with some tweaking to suit my tastes, it was fun preparing it, and we enjoyed eating it. It was nice to have something a little more “fussy” and interesting. When I chopped up the mushrooms and onions, I did so till the mixture was a fine mince and added some garlic as well. (I meant to deglaze the pan with a little white wine, which would have been nice, but I forgot) I skipped the bread crumbs entirely and just as I suspected, we didn’t miss them. As for the cheese, wouldn’t you know I had just about everything BUT Havarti in the fridge but there are any number of acceptable substitutes – in a pinch any semi-soft cheese will do. I used a Pepper Jack for mine, but in consideration of Hubs’ sensitive innards I used just a mild Cheddar in his. Rather than piling the mushroom-onion mixture and the cheese on the chicken in a blob, I spread everything over the surface of each breast and then rolled it up pinwheel-style. Wrapping each with two slices of bacon was not only too much, it resulted in the bacon underneath staying unattractively fatty and gloppy. One slice, cut in two pieces and laid over the top, would have worked much better. Not only did we not miss the bread crumbs, I don’t think I’d miss the cheese either. You wouldn’t be sacrificing any flavor or compromising the dish by eliminating both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States