Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I'm not a big meatloaf fan but my whole family loved this as did I. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions with two large cloves of garlic and also made some garlic flavored breadcrumbs. I also make a glaze type topping from another meatloaf recipe which was 2/3 cup ketchup, 4 Tablespoons dijon mustard and 4 Tablespoons brown sugar and poured it on top before baking. It was reall great and complimented the flavor nicely. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
OUT-OUT-RAGEOUS! We love meatloaf and I have three or four favorites - this now becomes #1! The only things I changed was because of what I was in the mood for - ketchup I am sure would have been fine but I substituted the ketchup with jarred beef gravy with mushrooms and poured what was left over the top of the meatloaf (inserted holes with my finger into the top of the meatloaf so the gravy could seep through). I also added just a dash of Worcestershire sauce and 1 l/2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning. I was only using a little more than a pound of beef so I cooked my loaf at 425 for 1 hour. (I always use that temp. for meatloaf) and at that temp you can put potatoes in the oven and they are baked through at the same time. Served creamed spinach with it. Dinner was done in no time and what comfort food!!! Thank you submitter - this meatloaf was soooo moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I liked this recipe as a starter but I made lots of changes: sauteed mushrooms and onions before folding them in, used pepper relish instead of ketchup (it gave another layer of flavor, and moisture). I also used Rachael Ray's recipe for Italian meatloaf glaze. The overall effect was outstanding. EDITED: I've been making this recipe with 3/4 ground turkey and 1/4 ground pork (as lean as I can get), and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This tasted pretty good. Instead of mixing the mushrooms up thru the whole meatloaf, I patted 1/2 meat into the bottom of the pan-then added a layer of mushrooms, swiss cheese slices, then rest of meatloaf mixture. In last five minutes-I added few more mushrooms on top and few more swiss cheese slices-just until cheese melts. Everybody loved this. Thanks for shaaring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I LOVE this meatloaf! I'm not a meatloaf fan normally, but this recipe has become one of our favorites. One tip: form the meatloaf in a loaf pan and then slam in into a 9x13 baking dish and remove the loaf pan. The meatloaf will still keep it's loaf shape, but all the fat will go around it and the loaf won't be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
Yum! Espsecially if you use Italian seasoned breadcrumbs and add about 4 cloves of garlic. Leftovers can be made into sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is a really good basic meatloaf. I switched out the bread crumbs for oatmeal (only because that's how I grew up with it being made). I also added a few healthy dashes of worchestershire for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was good. I used spaghetti sauce instead of ketchup. We do like our other meatloaf recipe a little bit better, but this was good and we needed a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was the first meatloaf that I have ever made and the whole family loved it! The changes I made(thanks to reviews) were: onion soup mix instead on onion, cream of mushroom instead of ketchup, & garlic salt instead of salt. Next time I think that I will add some Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This meatloaf was great. I used mushrooms from a can and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States