Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
OUT-OUT-RAGEOUS! We love meatloaf and I have three or four favorites - this now becomes #1! The only things I changed was because of what I was in the mood for - ketchup I am sure would have been fine but I substituted the ketchup with jarred beef gravy with mushrooms and poured what was left over the top of the meatloaf (inserted holes with my finger into the top of the meatloaf so the gravy could seep through). I also added just a dash of Worcestershire sauce and 1 l/2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning. I was only using a little more than a pound of beef so I cooked my loaf at 425 for 1 hour. (I always use that temp. for meatloaf) and at that temp you can put potatoes in the oven and they are baked through at the same time. Served creamed spinach with it. Dinner was done in no time and what comfort food!!! Thank you submitter - this meatloaf was soooo moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I could not stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I used shitake mushrooms and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I used mushrooms in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This was *extremely* good. Everyone raved, and my roommates chose to eat the leftovers for every meal until they were gone -- not to mention made Sad Faces at the empty pan -- and I don't think there's higher praise than that. I really recommend using a meat thermometer as the recipe author suggests; when I cooked ours, it reached 160 way before an hour and 45 minutes were up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I'm not a big meatloaf fan but my whole family loved this as did I. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions with two large cloves of garlic and also made some garlic flavored breadcrumbs. I also make a glaze type topping from another meatloaf recipe which was 2/3 cup ketchup, 4 Tablespoons dijon mustard and 4 Tablespoons brown sugar and poured it on top before baking. It was reall great and complimented the flavor nicely. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Soo good - and perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Loved this one! Used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, but it was very very good! Made it for an admitted picky eater, who had never had a meatloaf before. He's asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bruchsal, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
The boyfriend RAVED. But then he always does that. I am not a meat eater, but the gravy from it was excellent! I added some onion soup mix in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was a great recipe. I did however substitute 1 pound of meat for turkey and it was absolutely delicious. My husband had no idea that there was even any turkey in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States