Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jleey
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Awesome soup, had such amazing flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except I didn't use any shitaki, used a box of baby portobello mushrooms. Cooked on high for 4 hours was perfect. A really good hearty & filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I feel like this recipe called for too much liquid. But that's easily recommended in a crockpot with a longer cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
tastes great, very easy to make, but cooking it on High cooked out most of my broth, so I had to add some water. I didn't even cook it for 4 hours on high, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is great. Very flavoursome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was edible but lacked gusto in the flavor and texture department. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This stew is just as amazing as everyone has said in the comments! A couple things I did/will do differently: 1. I don't have a slow cooker, so I used a pot. On the lowest heat, the soup took about 2 hours to cook. 2. I found there to be too much liquid left at the end - it turned out more like a thick soup than a stew. Next time, I will cut the liquid back to about 1.5 gallons. . . Finally, I punched this recipe into a nutrition calculator. If anyone is interested, below is the approximate nutritional info for each serving (total of 8) Calories: 172 Carbs: 33 g Fat: 0 Protein: 11 g Sodium: 625 mg (that's with the tsp of salt I added, and a relatively generic broth) Not too shabby at all! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kirk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was easy enough to make, and smelled good. When I tasted it I found it rather bland so I added Worcestershire sauce and paprika. I also had to add a good bit more broth as it all absorbed. I did the 10 hour low heat setting on my crock pot, as that seemed like a good idea at the time. It was fine hot, very hearty and filling though still a little bland. I like to use my crockpot on weekends to make dinner on Sunday and eat the leftovers for lunch the rest of the week. Unfortunately I didn't realize that this became unappetizing gelatinous once it cooled down. I tried eating it but the texture was gluey. So to summarize it was good, if bland while hot but make sure you are going to eat it all that night as it doesn't store well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious. What a huge hit this soup was in my house. I didn't have Savory, so subbed Herbs de Provence and dried Parsley. I have tried hundreds of recipes from this website, and this one ranks in the top 10 easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Cut back on pepper like others. Didn't have time for slow cooker so I simmered on stove for a while. Wonderful flavor, and healthy. Will make again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Bland - at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States