Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is definitely a keeper, although (as others said) there is too much pepper. I actually enjoy that much heat in many recipes, but in this recipe it dominates too much over the more subtle flavors. I will cut in half at least next time, and maybe a quarter for my toddlers' sake. A really neat thing about this recipe is that most of the ingredients are dry or easily replaced with dry ingredients, so it is easy to pre-mix on the weekend, store in a Ziploc bag on a shelf, and then throw in a crockpot with 2 quarts of water in the morning before work any day of the week - or even a month later, if you use an oxygen-reducing packet. I replaced broth with boullion and garlic with garlic powder. Button mushrooms were the only fresh ingredient we used, and I since found a way to order freeze-dried mushrooms - so next time I will be using entirely dry ingredients and then will "just add water".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Yum! I chopped up a whole onion instead of using flakes. Before putting everything into the crockpot, I sauteed the onion, 2 minced cloves of garlic, one grated carrot, and one minced jalapeno in some olive oil. Then I put that into the crockpot. I didn't have savory, so I just used italian seasoning in lieu of that and the basil. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
this is a great, healthy, low-fat recipe...i have made it several times. HOWEVER, i would recommend that you cut the amount of black pepper in the recipe in half (to 1 tsp) because otherwise, it has a lingering burn and your lips will be on fire by the end of a bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is an amazing soup! I made it two days before serving it for Christmas dinner (I had two vegans who came to dinner)and my guests were extremely impressed. My husband who likes hearty beef based soups was surprised at it's taste and called it "satisfying." Plus, my daughter-in-law who prides herself on her homemade soups stated it was the best soup she ever had. Need I say more? Thank you Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Since I am not vegetarian, I used chicken broth but didn't add salt. Walmart didn't have shitake mushrooms ( I live in rual Western Michigan ) so I just doubled the amount called for, using regular mushrooms. This is a staple recipe in my kitchen, I will use it over and over and over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This had delicious flavor and a wonderful, hearty texture. I used all fresh herbs (but I didn't have savory, so I used thyme and a bit of mint), a whole Vidalia onion instead of onion flakes, and baby bellas instead of button mushrooms. I followed other reviewers' advice and used only 1 tsp pepper, but next time I'll up it to 1.5. My boyfriend, the soup junkie, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too much pepper! I tried to add more broth more barley and lentils still to much pepper. Going to try lemon juice and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmacupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Maybe it's just my crock pot, but I cooked it on high for 4 hours and most of the liquid cooked away. I added more water, and a splash of white wine. This is a delicious, hearty, fall/winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was great. I like others, made some changes: I replaced the onion flakes with 1 chopped white onion and the summer savory with italian seasoning. I also reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. I added frozen peas, chopped carrots, a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce and one bottle of beer (I used Anchor Steam Christmas Ale because that is what I had). The results were delicious and this was very filling and hearty. I am glad I added a lot of extra liquid -- otherwise it would be way too thick. I will definitely make it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Made this last night before bed and woke up to a delicious-smelling house! How yummy is this?! Filling and hearty, yet low in calories and fat, very nutritious. The 5 stars are for how easy this was to prepare and for a recipe we'll use all year long. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States