Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
For a totally vegetable dish this was quite hearty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! And very forgiving; I have made it with wheat berries instead of barley, and without shiitake mushrooms; it still turns out absolutely delicious. Even my 2 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I found it to be bland. I think that the base is good, but I recommend you play around with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Shittake too expensive so more of the button, also used fresh garlic and onion, no savory so used Italian seasoning in it's place as per the suggestions of previous reviewers along with the basil. Chicken broth instead of veg broth and some baby carrots, yummy!! And yes, way less fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a perfect vegetarian stew! I have made it a couple times now and am happy with it exactly as written. You can also vary it a bit, use different spices, I cut down the broth by half and just add water for the rest as I don't like it too salty. I also never have onion flakes in the house so I just use an onion, all in all this is one of my favorite slow cooker recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is really good and different from most veggie based, earthy, spicy, and down right good. I had french bread and a henekien with it - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Did not enjoy this recipe at all. Will not be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was great. I like others, made some changes: I replaced the onion flakes with 1 chopped white onion and the summer savory with italian seasoning. I also reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. I added frozen peas, chopped carrots, a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce and one bottle of beer (I used Anchor Steam Christmas Ale because that is what I had). The results were delicious and this was very filling and hearty. I am glad I added a lot of extra liquid -- otherwise it would be way too thick. I will definitely make it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe except for halving the pepper per other reviews. I was very disappointed. It was extremely brothy, more of a soup than a stew. It was also surprisingly bland. Could taste the pepper, but nothing else. I wound up dumping a bunch of seasoned salt in it to perk it up, but even so, it is still pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
E-A-S-Y and flexible. I've made this without the driec shiitake (used fresh) and fresh onion instead of dried flakes and it's come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States