Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
ok but could have been more flavorful. Will add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a delicious stew! I made it on the stove though because I do not have a slow cooker. I also used "Better than Bullion no chicken base" and added a little mimic cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is the first crock pot recipe I've ever made that actually came out well! We're not big fans of lentils, but it's still delicious. (I made a half batch, and added a cup of cream after I turned the heat off to sort of "lighten" the flavour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
amazingly delicious - even the kids loved it. I subbed 1/2tsp of Bell's stuffing seasoning for the savory, omitted the bay leaves completely, and added only about 6 grinds of my pepper shaker - much less than called for in the recipe. I added about 1 tsp of salt and cooked on high for 4 hours, then left the cover askew for another hour to cook off some of the liquid. (I had only fresh shiitake mushrooms and forgot to reduce the liquid before adding it!) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed the recipe. I did tweak it a bit: I used ~2 cups of sliced fresh shitake mushrooms, and 4 medium portabello mushrooms. I also fried 1/2 a medium yellow onion with 1 Tbsp of minced garlic in lieu of using the onion flakes. Maybe a bit strong on the garlic but that's OK with us. I'll be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raindogxx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wow - super delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This stew was absolutely amazing!! However next time I make it I'm definitely going to add more liquid. Might just be the slow cooker that I have but it turned out more like a really great casserole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this tonight and it was delicious, hearty and filling. Didn't have savory so added 1 tsp each of thyme and rosemary. Also, didn't have shiitake mushrooms so used all button mushrooms. Cooked in 3.5 hrs on high. Used 1/2 amount of pepper and didn't add salt (tasted fine without it). I'm looking to add simple, healthy staple meals to my routine and this will be one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
very bland. saved it with bacon. sorry veggies....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States