Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good soup! I substituted homemade mushroom stock in place of the vegetable broth, portabella mushrooms because those are the only kind my husband will eat, and a chopped fresh onion for the flakes. I used 1/2 the pepper based on other reviews and it was just right. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make! I fixed it with cornbread! I used Thyme instead of the Savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Threw some of this in the slow cooker over night and couldn't resist but to have some for breakfast, really good. It seems like my lentils pretty much broke down but it added to the thickness and texture of the stew. Instead of using vegetable broth I used chicken stock that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I am a vegetarian and my friends are not. I got so many compliments on this receipt. I used king trumpet mushrooms in addition to what was called for and everyone said it was hearty and meaty. Plus, it was so filling and delicious! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I pick a lot of wild mushrooms and I constantly look for recipes to use them. I just picked 4 pounds of oyster mushrooms and this looked tasty. I didn't have lentils so I used black beans and fresh onion instead of dried flakes. Six hours in the crock pot at medium heat and it was perfect. Everyone loved it. Next time I will use ham broth instead of veggie broth. Use whatever grains and legumes you have. It will still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I needed a lentil recipe that I could make in the slow cooker, so I picked this one. It was very easy to make. I used fresh shiitake because that's what I could find. I added about 2 cups of water because I thought there's no way this will be enough liquid. I'm really glad I did! Next time, I will just use more vegetable broth. I've never heard of summer savory spice, so I just used Italian seasoning. Even though we love spicy food, we used less pepper as everyone else suggested. That was a good call, too. I still feel like the stew is missing something, but I'm not sure what. I can't say I love it and I can't wait to make it again, but it's a good staple to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsvesti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is the most delicious thing I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I cut the pepper as the other reviewers suggested. I will add more salt next time as I just did about 1 tsp this time around. I also browned some beef and let it slow cook in the stew to increase the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a really nice, hearty and healthy recipe. I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp like many other people recommended however it was still pretty bold (I'm glad I read the review, I don't know how anyone could use 2 tsp and enjoy it). I think if I make it again I'll reduce it to 1/2 a tsp of pepper. I also think it could use a vegetable to freshen it up a little, maybe some frozen corn would do the trick. When I served it I topped it off with a little grated parmesan and it was fabulous. This is perfect for broke students like myself considering all of the ingredients are cheap and don't expire too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious, healthy and easy! Even my kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States