Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I wasn't able to find "summer savory" and don't know what is in it, so my dish came out a little on the bland side with exception of the black pepper. I think I will use less black pepper next time, as it's such a sharp taste... and I'll try to find some summer savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
amazingly easy and tasty. like nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this tonight for a group of friends. All wanted the recipe. I doubled the recipe but did not double the spices. I used thyme in place of summer savory and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was really good. I was skeptical at first because it didn't look to appetizing. I didn't have any shitake mushrooms so I used a good sized portabella that I sliced up in addition to the slice button mushrooms. I also had no summer savory - recipe was still tasty without it! I wasn't sure which type of lentils to use since it wasn't specified - I ended up going with red lentils so that the stew would be kind of creamy once they cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maria
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good! Filling and "meaty" without any meat. I made a couple modifications: as others have done, I sautéed a minced onion (along with the garlic) instead of using dried onion; I happened to have a good amount of fresh shiitakes from our CSA, so I used those instead of white mushrooms; I used 1 qt chicken broth and 1 qt veggie because that's what I had on hand; we grow summer savory so I used two good-sized fresh sprigs. I also used freshly-ground pepper and just eyeballed the amount. I added about a teaspoon of salt before cooking, but ended up needing to add a little more when serving. That's a matter of preference, though. It was a satisfying, hearty meal with a chunk of whole-grain bread, but this is a very "brown" dish so ideally I'd have a salad or some greens on the side to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was delicious and incredibly easy to cook. It holds up well for leftover lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very easy to put together and it came out tasty. I used all baby portabella mushrooms and next time I will cut the black pepper in half. It was a tad hot for my liking but it was still very good. I cooked it on low for 11 hours. This is a keeper for my slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic. No savoury so used sage and rosemary. Added some celery towards the end for a bit of crunch. have to be very careful with salt content of stock so as not to over season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this was great. I couldnt find shiitake so i used extra button mushrooms. I also had no savory so i subbed sage and thyme. I used fresh onion and added a bit of chopped carrot and chopped spinach. turned out delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used fresh onions and garlic, and I didn't have savory, and I cut back a bit on the pepper, as suggested. This soup had lots of good flavors, but it was missing something. I think some fresh rosemary may have done the trick. My husband said "It needs beef." Hmmm...I don't know if that's the answer. I think more variety of vegetables would have been good. Maybe some root vegetables, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States