Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much pepper! I cut the pepper to only one teaspoon and the recipe called for two teaspoons. You would have to really like spicy for that. If I make it again I will probably only put 1/4 of a teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was very good, although not super flavorful. I added a coupl eof different kinds of mushrooms and ate it with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My changes: about double the broth, adding two extra cups chopped mushrooms during last 5-10 minutes, 2 tbs red wine, 1 regular onion instead of flakes, 3 cloves minced garlic. With these minor changes the recipes was pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
My husband, a total mushroom fanatic, loved it. I like mushrooms too - not nearly as much as he does though - but thought the dried mushrooms made overwhelmed the other flavors. Next time I won't use so many, because otherwise it was tasty, filling, healthy, inexpensive and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome. Amazingly hearty and tasty: I made this for dinner and 3 meat-loving, six foot tall men were pleased and satisfied. Amazingly easy and healthy: I've been preparing the dry version of this recipe for all my friends with newborns. They've really appreciated the energy boost this healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I added jalapenos for an extra kick and cooked the barley for 35 min. It was amazing! Super healthy and was great as a leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I really liked this but my family didn't. I think the problem was that I made it the day before we ate it and it got really thick overnight. Also I think cooking it on high for 4 hours would have been enough. I will make it again but not the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe had too much pepper. I even halved it and still found it too peppery for my taste. Otherwise it was good. I did use only baby bella mushrooms. This is a very thick stew and I think I will add a little extra broth next time (along with less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Darn. I read some of the reviews that said there was too much pepper, but it took a while between reading the reviews and my actually getting around to making the soup. By then I'd forgotten. The other reviews were definitely right. It'll be better the next time (and I'll change my review then). However, I was happy to find that my soup was finished in 6 hours instead of the 10-12 in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States