Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My Wife and I really enjoyed this after only minor customization, and it is SO easy to make! It has really nice flavors and my wife was very pleasantly surprised to see me attempt something that was vegetarian. I didn't even find myself wishing there was meat in it! Although I didn't enjoy the leftovers so much (slightly gummy texture), the first feed with some garlic bread went down famously! I will definitely be making this again. Here are some minor adjustments that we made: Used 1 portabella mushroom cap instead of the shitake (availability issue), 1 whole white onion in place of dried flakes, Upped the amount of garlic to 4 cloves (will increase this even more next time as we are garlic lovers), and reduced the amount of black pepper to 1 teaspoon (although next time I will use even less as we still found that much black pepper to be a bit overpowering). Only had to cook on high for 4 hours and it was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
LOVED this recipe. Super easy and very tasty. I used mushroom broth instead of plain vegetable broth and fresh shiitakes (3) instead of dried because the store I went to didn't have dried. I also added precooked barley that I had in the freezer instead of uncooked. This is a brilliant recipe and will be on our table often this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I was so sad when I got home and ran to my slow cooker to try this. There so so much pepper I couldn't taste anything else. So I added some veggies and a couple cans of diced tomatoes in hopes of cutting some of the pepper, but it didn't work. No one in my family liked it. I was so dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Have made this twice now. The first time was good, but missing a little something. I subbed beef broth for veggie broth on the second time around and used Italian Seasoning instead of summer savory and liked it better than my first outing with the recipe. I've also found that it tastes MUCH better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
ehh wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very Good! The word is "Earthy". I used about a small, chopped onion instead of the flakes. I didn't have savory so used thyme and oregano (those aren't really a substitute but I thought they would taste good in this). I also added chopped kale, red bell peppers, tomatoes and serrano hot peppers at the end. My only complaint is that I didn't like the texture. It was kind of sticky and gummy. Next time I will try making this on the stove top instead of crock pot. There will be a next time because I LOVED the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very Tasty :) Easy preparation and the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much pepper! I cut the pepper to only one teaspoon and the recipe called for two teaspoons. You would have to really like spicy for that. If I make it again I will probably only put 1/4 of a teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was very good, although not super flavorful. I added a coupl eof different kinds of mushrooms and ate it with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My changes: about double the broth, adding two extra cups chopped mushrooms during last 5-10 minutes, 2 tbs red wine, 1 regular onion instead of flakes, 3 cloves minced garlic. With these minor changes the recipes was pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States