Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Have made this twice now. The first time was good, but missing a little something. I subbed beef broth for veggie broth on the second time around and used Italian Seasoning instead of summer savory and liked it better than my first outing with the recipe. I've also found that it tastes MUCH better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
ehh wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very Good! The word is "Earthy". I used about a small, chopped onion instead of the flakes. I didn't have savory so used thyme and oregano (those aren't really a substitute but I thought they would taste good in this). I also added chopped kale, red bell peppers, tomatoes and serrano hot peppers at the end. My only complaint is that I didn't like the texture. It was kind of sticky and gummy. Next time I will try making this on the stove top instead of crock pot. There will be a next time because I LOVED the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very Tasty :) Easy preparation and the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much pepper! I cut the pepper to only one teaspoon and the recipe called for two teaspoons. You would have to really like spicy for that. If I make it again I will probably only put 1/4 of a teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was very good, although not super flavorful. I added a coupl eof different kinds of mushrooms and ate it with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My changes: about double the broth, adding two extra cups chopped mushrooms during last 5-10 minutes, 2 tbs red wine, 1 regular onion instead of flakes, 3 cloves minced garlic. With these minor changes the recipes was pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
My husband, a total mushroom fanatic, loved it. I like mushrooms too - not nearly as much as he does though - but thought the dried mushrooms made overwhelmed the other flavors. Next time I won't use so many, because otherwise it was tasty, filling, healthy, inexpensive and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome. Amazingly hearty and tasty: I made this for dinner and 3 meat-loving, six foot tall men were pleased and satisfied. Amazingly easy and healthy: I've been preparing the dry version of this recipe for all my friends with newborns. They've really appreciated the energy boost this healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I added jalapenos for an extra kick and cooked the barley for 35 min. It was amazing! Super healthy and was great as a leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States