Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Since I am not vegetarian, I used chicken broth but didn't add salt. Walmart didn't have shitake mushrooms ( I live in rual Western Michigan ) so I just doubled the amount called for, using regular mushrooms. This is a staple recipe in my kitchen, I will use it over and over and over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Made this last night before bed and woke up to a delicious-smelling house! How yummy is this?! Filling and hearty, yet low in calories and fat, very nutritious. The 5 stars are for how easy this was to prepare and for a recipe we'll use all year long. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Good meaty texture and body. Interesting flavor but needs a little zip. Possibly tomato, vinegar, hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is an amazing soup! I made it two days before serving it for Christmas dinner (I had two vegans who came to dinner)and my guests were extremely impressed. My husband who likes hearty beef based soups was surprised at it's taste and called it "satisfying." Plus, my daughter-in-law who prides herself on her homemade soups stated it was the best soup she ever had. Need I say more? Thank you Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was really excellent, and my boyfriend's favorite recipe yet. He says it's hard to believe that it has no meat in it, and compares it to a good chili. We used parsley for savory, and quite a bit of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was a very harty and filling soup. It had all my favorites! Cheap and extra easy! Great for busy winter days, just stick everything in and come home to dinner ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This had delicious flavor and a wonderful, hearty texture. I used all fresh herbs (but I didn't have savory, so I used thyme and a bit of mint), a whole Vidalia onion instead of onion flakes, and baby bellas instead of button mushrooms. I followed other reviewers' advice and used only 1 tsp pepper, but next time I'll up it to 1.5. My boyfriend, the soup junkie, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Excellent. Made it for dinner. Used poultry seasoning instead of summer savory. Whole family enjoyed it. Leftovers were given to a neighbor and my father who also loved it. Thanks for a gread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
surprisingly easy and good. Only had beef broth on hand and served it as side dish with steak. Maybe could use a little more liquid but was good as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
A +++! This recipe had a lot of subtle flavor. We're planning on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States