Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very hearty and filling. :) Good flavor. I used 1/2 the amount of black pepper, and might even cut it down a bit more. The summer savory I used ended up leaving bits of woody stems behind. I also used a fresh onion and couldn't find the dried shitake, so I used all fresh mushrooms (a combination of white button and portabellas). Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved this! It's very hearty and delicious. I made the mistake of adding too much barley so it got too thick but other than that, I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very good flavor. Watch how long it cooks - barley gets mushy fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I liked this recipe! It makes a lot, so for just two it was a bit much, but luckily it freezes well. Definitely cut the pepper! Make sure to use a fresh onion, as well. You can sautee the onions and mushrooms beforehand to get some more flavor out of them. I also added extra mushrooms, because I love them so much! Very hearty, healthy, and rich. Will for sure be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent! I'm not vegetarian but really enjoyed this recipe. Per other reviewer's suggestions, I only used about 3/4 t. of black pepper and that was perfect. I also added a bit of sherry for flavor. Will definitely made this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My Wife and I really enjoyed this after only minor customization, and it is SO easy to make! It has really nice flavors and my wife was very pleasantly surprised to see me attempt something that was vegetarian. I didn't even find myself wishing there was meat in it! Although I didn't enjoy the leftovers so much (slightly gummy texture), the first feed with some garlic bread went down famously! I will definitely be making this again. Here are some minor adjustments that we made: Used 1 portabella mushroom cap instead of the shitake (availability issue), 1 whole white onion in place of dried flakes, Upped the amount of garlic to 4 cloves (will increase this even more next time as we are garlic lovers), and reduced the amount of black pepper to 1 teaspoon (although next time I will use even less as we still found that much black pepper to be a bit overpowering). Only had to cook on high for 4 hours and it was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
LOVED this recipe. Super easy and very tasty. I used mushroom broth instead of plain vegetable broth and fresh shiitakes (3) instead of dried because the store I went to didn't have dried. I also added precooked barley that I had in the freezer instead of uncooked. This is a brilliant recipe and will be on our table often this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I was so sad when I got home and ran to my slow cooker to try this. There so so much pepper I couldn't taste anything else. So I added some veggies and a couple cans of diced tomatoes in hopes of cutting some of the pepper, but it didn't work. No one in my family liked it. I was so dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Have made this twice now. The first time was good, but missing a little something. I subbed beef broth for veggie broth on the second time around and used Italian Seasoning instead of summer savory and liked it better than my first outing with the recipe. I've also found that it tastes MUCH better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
ehh wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States