Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
A fantastic, hearty stew that's ready to go by the time the family gets home. Consider serving in a freshly baked bread bowl for added enjoyment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe but used a real onion and reduced the pepper by one-third. It was really filling and good! If I make it again, I'll definitely pick up some bread (or bake some if I'm really ambitious) to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe was a huge success for the family that I prepare food for! They couldn't find dried shiitake mushrooms so we substituted dried porcini. I had half of an onion already chopped, so used that instead of the dried flakes and as per other recommendations, used only 1 teaspoon of black pepper. This was a delicious vegan meal that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The mushroom, lentils and barley really work great together! I skimped on the shiitake to save money, and added carrots and onions instead for sweetness. I also used ginger instead as the main spice, which turned out really nice. I made this on stovetop (grains cooked first, then veggies added), and it only took about 40 min for everything to be fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made this exactly as directed the first time and it turned out great. Now I'm having fun playing with it, like adding a cup of diced carrots or different kinds of mushrooms. It's a fantastic weeknight meal. Put everything in the crock pot the night before and keep it in the fridge until you switch it on the next morning. What could be better? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! I did make some slight changes. Fresh Onions, and fresh button, oyster and shiitake mushrooms. Reduced amount to pepper per other reviews. I cooked on low for 10 hours which seemed to long. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7u3sday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and honestly, I don't think it had much flavor at all. I will not be making this again. I was really disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Had for dinner tonight - delish! I did substitute all fresh mushrooms (a variety) and based on another reviewer, I subbed italian seasoning in for summer savory. Quite good - I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this because I had friends coming over after work and would have no time to prepare something. Plus, one of my friends is a vegetarian making the "what do I make??" decision even harder. I really liked this! I actually really dislike button mushrooms, so I upped the quantity of shiitake mushrooms and also added a mix of portobello and oyster mushrooms along with the shiitake. I didn't have savory, so I used thyme. And I used a diced onion instead of onion flakes. I added a can of spinach (I felt like Popeye - I didn't even know they actually had cans of spinach!) which was good for colour and flavour as well. The recipe makes a lot, and I've been happily eating leftovers for several days now. I don't usually eat vegetarian food but who knew it could be so good? ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I made it with the following changes: I increased the barley and lentils to 1 C each. I used 1 pound of sliced mushrooms and a chopped onion. The onion and mushrooms were placed in the bottom of a pressure cooker and sauteed for about 5 minutes in olive oil. I decreased the vegetable broth to 1 quart. Finally, I added 1 pound of fresh chopped spinach. After adding all the ingredients into a pressure cooker, I cooked them for about 15 minutes. This came out as a delicious meal that was prepared and cooked in under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States