Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by maria
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good! Filling and "meaty" without any meat. I made a couple modifications: as others have done, I sautéed a minced onion (along with the garlic) instead of using dried onion; I happened to have a good amount of fresh shiitakes from our CSA, so I used those instead of white mushrooms; I used 1 qt chicken broth and 1 qt veggie because that's what I had on hand; we grow summer savory so I used two good-sized fresh sprigs. I also used freshly-ground pepper and just eyeballed the amount. I added about a teaspoon of salt before cooking, but ended up needing to add a little more when serving. That's a matter of preference, though. It was a satisfying, hearty meal with a chunk of whole-grain bread, but this is a very "brown" dish so ideally I'd have a salad or some greens on the side to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was delicious and incredibly easy to cook. It holds up well for leftover lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very easy to put together and it came out tasty. I used all baby portabella mushrooms and next time I will cut the black pepper in half. It was a tad hot for my liking but it was still very good. I cooked it on low for 11 hours. This is a keeper for my slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic. No savoury so used sage and rosemary. Added some celery towards the end for a bit of crunch. have to be very careful with salt content of stock so as not to over season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this was great. I couldnt find shiitake so i used extra button mushrooms. I also had no savory so i subbed sage and thyme. I used fresh onion and added a bit of chopped carrot and chopped spinach. turned out delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used fresh onions and garlic, and I didn't have savory, and I cut back a bit on the pepper, as suggested. This soup had lots of good flavors, but it was missing something. I think some fresh rosemary may have done the trick. My husband said "It needs beef." Hmmm...I don't know if that's the answer. I think more variety of vegetables would have been good. Maybe some root vegetables, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I give this one five stars for both being healthy and for taste. I added a carrot to the mix as well. This had become my new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Great recipe w/ a little help...add some chopped carrot, celery and fresh onion. It will probably need a little more broth added to it, as it was slightly too thick. I served with a nice whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
So good and, even better, so easy! Made a half-batch since there's only two of us, but will definitely make a full batch next time: husband ate it all in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Surprisingly good! I only added 1/2 tsp pepper; 2 tsp sounded like way too much! We had warm dinner rolls to go with it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States