Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I added jalapenos for an extra kick and cooked the barley for 35 min. It was amazing! Super healthy and was great as a leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I really liked this but my family didn't. I think the problem was that I made it the day before we ate it and it got really thick overnight. Also I think cooking it on high for 4 hours would have been enough. I will make it again but not the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe had too much pepper. I even halved it and still found it too peppery for my taste. Otherwise it was good. I did use only baby bella mushrooms. This is a very thick stew and I think I will add a little extra broth next time (along with less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Darn. I read some of the reviews that said there was too much pepper, but it took a while between reading the reviews and my actually getting around to making the soup. By then I'd forgotten. The other reviews were definitely right. It'll be better the next time (and I'll change my review then). However, I was happy to find that my soup was finished in 6 hours instead of the 10-12 in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tried this soup yesterday, good earthy taste. Too much pepper for my liking and I actually like a lot of pepper. Even with the suggested reduction to 1 tsp, it was still too much. Maybe next time I'll reduce it to 1/2 tsp. It was slightly bland, and I was eating it I was wondering what I could add to it to give it more flavor. I didn't have summer savory and went with the italian seasoning as advised by a few others. I give it 4 stars because it's a good BASE soup and very simple to make. Definitely a keeper with a few additions. I enjoy recipes that I can tweak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a hearty meal with garlic bread on the side and it certaily stuck to our ribs however the flavor was missing and I used beef broth instead of vegetable and an extra shot of spices after reading reviews. Not bad but not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was not good, all ingredients should go well together but flavour was not appealing to me. I will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Kind of just "there." We prefer more zip in our food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
It smelled good, but was very mushroomy (and I LOVE mushrooms). It was also very thick. We only ate it for one meal and left it in the fridge. I'm not sure what I would suggest to make it better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States